flag image

Spring athletes honored at Prospect Mountain

by Joshua Spaulding
Sports Editor - Granite State News, Carroll County Independent, Meredith News, Gilford Steamer, Winnisquam Echo, Plymouth Record-Enterprise and Baysider

FOOD SERVICE DIRECTOR Kim Dubuque (center) offers a little “supervision” to Principal J Fitzpatrick and Assistant Principal Katey Hills as they man the grill during the spring sports awards. Joshua Spaulding. (click for larger version)
June 18, 2012
ALTON — Prospect Mountain celebrated the end of another successful sports season with the annual spring sports awards on Tuesday, June 12.

"I want to thank all the athletes for their continued leadership and respect of others," said Athletic Director Corey Roux in opening the ceremony. "The qualities of teamwork, dedication, sportsmanship and pride are just a few of the lifelong learning experiences athletes share through athletics here at Prospect Mountain High School."

Roux also thanked the parents, family members and fans for making the school an enjoyable place for everyone.

"Prospect is a great role model for all opposing teams," Roux said.

He then introduced all the teams and touted their accomplishments.

The boys' tennis team, with coach Justin Carloni at the helm, made steady improvement and recorded the most wins in program history. It was also the "top grilling" team at Prospect Mountain.

The girls' tennis team, under the tutelage of coach Joe Derrick, also won the most matches in program history despite a very difficult schedule and got wins from all six spots in the lineup.

The JV baseball team competed with heart in a competitive season with a lot of close games and some great work ethic under the guidance of coach Roy Poslusny.

The JV softball team finished at 8-3 and made great strides over the course of the season as the girls learned new skills and improved as a team all season under coach Mary Dank.

The varsity baseball team, with coach Gary Noyes at the helm, finished 11-5 and was the seventh seed in the Division III tournament. The Timber Wolves knocked off undefeated Campbell in the regular season and advanced to the quarterfinals. Cody Symonds (First Team), Ethan Henderson (Second Team) and Zack Drouin (Third Team) all made All-State rosters.

The varsity softball team qualified for the play-in game and had a number of very close games throughout the season, proving to be a competitive opponent for just about everyone. Sahara Brown (First Team) and Alexa Hingston (Second Team) earned All-State honors for coach Gordon Bilodeau's squad.

The track team saw a number of personal bests throughout the season, with the boys and girls finishing 11th at Wilderness and 17th at the Division III State Meet, with 13 athletes qualifying for the State Meet and Drew Tuttle, Brown and Anna Jortikka all qualifying for the Meet of Champions.

Roux then made a special presentation to longtime track coach Kristi Hikel, who is stepping down after 13 years of coaching high school track at Alton and Prospect Mountain.

"She is a true role model for all athletes to follow," Roux said as he gave Hikel a plaque, inducting her into the PMHS Hall of Fame. Hikel was inducted into the Coaches Hall of Fame earlier this season.

The crowd then rose to give the longtime coach a standing ovation for her dedication to the athletes over the years.

Principal J Fitzpatrick then joined Roux on stage to present the NHIAA Sportsmanship Awards, given to two athletes from each team.

For the boys' tennis team, Zach and Andrew Carson were the winners, while Emily Macduff and Samantha Holton were the winners from the girls' tennis team.

McKenzie Roberts and Olivia Shelton were the JV softball honorees and Drew Ingoldsby and Brandon Clement were the JV baseball winners.

Emelie Morton and Anna Jortikka were the girls' track winners and Justin Hughen and Quentin Gusbin were selected from the boys' track team.

The varsity softball winners were Haley Farnham and Kirby Beranger and the varsity baseball winners were Tom Parker and Logan Roberts.

Cathy Fraser and Dawn Farnham were next up, as they presented the Booster Club Scholar-Athlete Awards.

For the track team, the honorees were Celeste Banfill, Karie Bilodeau, Dagny Brown, Allyson Cleary, Emerson Doiron, Ben Drury, Meaghan Hennessey, Anna Jortikka, Tony Krivitsky, Aspen Ladieu, Sarah Mayberry, Kathryn McGinnis, Matt McGinnis, Abbey McMahon, Cassie Noble, Joseph Perry, Ali Rogers, Sarah Simoneau, Signe Therrien, Minnie Thoroughgood, Zoe Wenzel and Rebecca Wright.

For the boys' tennis team, Dakota Marsh, Sean Perkins, Nicholas Pinard and Tony Stohlberg were the winners.

Hollie Foster, Samantha Holton, Michelle Laliberte, Ciera Libenson, Emily Macduff, Marta Rodriguez de Federico, Cassandra Russell and Shayna Sweezy were the girls' tennis winners.

For the JV baseball team, Tucker MacLaughlin and Zach Smith were the winners.

For the JV softball team, Morgan Holton, Natalie Hudson, Madison McKenzie, Haley Mellon, McKenzie Roberts, Katie Sepulveda and Meghan Stackhouse were the winners.

Andrew Hederman, Tom Parker and Cody Symonds were the varsity baseball team winners.

For the varsity softball team, Kirby Beranger, Sahara Brown (also for track), Haley Farnham, Laura Fraser, Anna Hingston, Shannon Meyer, Samantha Misiaszek, Ella Montminy and Ashlee Roy were the winners.

The assembled crowd then watched a video put together by Cathy Fraser and Logan LaRoche before heading off to individual team awards and a cookout.

Team awards

For the JV baseball team, Matt Johnson was named the MVP. Nate Farnham, Zach Robertson and John Barnes took home the Coach's Award.

For the JV softball team, Haley Mellon was named MVP, while Amber Allen earned the honors as Most Improved Player. Madison McKenzie was presented the Coach's Award.

For the varsity baseball team, Cody Symonds received the Outstanding Contribution honor, with Zack Drouin and Pat Cassidy receiving the Coach's Award.

Coach Gary Noyes also paid special recognition to Marlene and Paul Drouin, the grandparents of Zack and former Timber Wolf Cam Drouin. The pair didn't miss a single game in eight years of soccer, basketball and baseball.

Ella Montminy won Most Improved Player for the varsity softball team, while Alexa Hingston and Kirby Beranger won Coach's Awards.

For the girls' tennis team, Cassandra Russell was named MVP, Ruth Bothwick won Rookie of the Year and Nicole Dwyer won the Coach's Award.

For the boys' tennis team, Jared Cowing was named MVP, Carl Stohlberg won the Most Improved Player award and Dylan Parker and Tony Stohlberg were the recipients of the Coach's Awards.

Drew Tuttle was named MVP of running events and Harvey Beck was MVP of field events for the boys' track team. Matt McGinnis won the Coach's Award and Mark Jannini won Most Improved Player.

Sahara Brown was the MVP of field events and Sarah Simoneau was MVP of running events for the girls' track team. Ally Cleary earned Most Improved Player and Dagny Brown won the Coach's Award.

Joshua Spaulding can be reached at sportsgsn@salmonpress.com or 569-3126

Garnett Hill
Salmon Press
Parker Village
Martin Lord Osman
Northern Human Services
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com