flag image

Kingswood pays tribute to spring athletes

by Joshua Spaulding
Sports Editor - Granite State News, Carroll County Independent, Meredith News, Gilford Steamer, Winnisquam Echo, Plymouth Record-Enterprise and Baysider

KINGSWOOD athletes wave for the camera following the school’s sports award ceremony on June 11. Joshua Spaulding. (click for larger version)
June 18, 2012
WOLFEBORO — For the first time, the award winners for the various Kingswood spring sports teams were honored in a large group celebration.

Athletes, family members and coaches gathered at Alumni Field on Monday, June 11, for the ceremony, where each coach got the chance to hand out awards, letters and certificates.

The Kingswood Alumni Association provided ice cream from Bailey's Bubble after the ceremony.

Athletic Director Andrea Ogden got the ceremony under way by introducing the coaching staff, praising their collective work during the spring season.

Varsity baseball coach Chip Skelley was up first on the night and congratulated all the teams on a successful spring season, giving special notice to the boys' tennis team for making the Division III semifinals. He also thanked the Alumni Association for helping make the ceremony a reality. He also had words of praise for his team.

"I want to thank my captains and my seniors for the commitment they brought this season and the enthusiasm they brought to get us back into the playoffs," Skelley said.

Slayd Dore then came forward for the first of his trips, accepting the award as Best Offensive Player, which Skelley said was actually a tight battle between six players.

The Most Improved Player Award, voted on by the team, went to Corey Goff and Pat Smith. Smith rebounded from a tough junior campaign to earn Third Team All-State honors.

Dore returned to the front to accept the Most Outstanding Pitcher Award, again voted on by the team.

Assistant coach Bill Rollins took the microphone to present the Coach's Award, given to someone who gave their heart and soul to Kingswood baseball. He presented the award to Tom Berry.

Dore then made another trip to accept the MVP Award for his work. Skelley noted he was a four-year starter and was near the top in all offensive and defensive categories all four years. Dore also earned First Team All-State honors.

Skelley announced that Brad Riley and Berry were selected as the captains for next season.

JV baseball coach Jason Walsh was up next and presented the Most Improved Player Award to Druv Patel. The Freshman of the Year Award went to Matt Harrington and the Coach's Award went to Scott Jenckes. Shane Deveau and Travis Drapeau shared the team's MVP honors.

Coach Paul Harvey's track team was up next. Harvey thanked assistants Glenn Wilson and Jamie Myers and his wife Pam for handling all the stats.

"This was an interesting group of kids," Harvey said. "They are 65 of the greatest kids we have at Kingswood."

Harvey presented three Coach's Awards, with Steven Osgood, Kevin Bisson and Katelyn Nelson coming forward to accept the honors.

The award for top female scorer on the track was Tessa Scott, while the award for the top female scorer in the field events was Allison Wood. The award for top male scorer in the field events went to Nick Woodard and the award for the top scorer on the track went to BJ Smith and Dylan Tarbox. Both Woodard and Smith are seniors competing in track for the first time. Tarbox qualified for the Division II Meet in both the 110 and 300-meter hurdles.

Harvey also presented the Sportsmanship Award to Shelby Sawyer and Chris Brooks.

Tom Merrell's girls' tennis team was up next and the veteran coach made it a point to thank all the places in town that let his team use the courts, including the Windrifter, Camp North Woods, Brewster Academy and the town of Wolfeboro. He also made sure to thank his wife, Susan, Ogden and the boys' tennis team coaches, Greg Cooper and Jeff Ladd.

The Coach's Award went to senior Jess Lapar, while fellow senior Rhianna Llewellyn received the Most Improved Player Award. Sophomore Ruth Brunton, who played number one singles for the Knights, earned the team MVP.

Cooper was next and he thanked all the parents and the school for its support this year.

"It was a great year for the program," Cooper said, noting the team's return to the playoffs after more than a decade. He pointed out that senior Peter Gibson made the individual tournament and Gibson and doubles partner Alden Garland made the doubles tournament, as did the team of Andrew McCall and Tuckerman Jones. Jones and McCall won their first round match.

Cooper presented the Rookie of the Year Award to Travis Lush. Nils Babcock earned the Most Improved Player Award after picking up some big wins for the Knights and Jones won the MVP Award, based on his match record.

Cooper then presented the Coach's Award to Gibson for his four years of dedicated service to the team.

Coach Dan Chick presented next, with Izzy O'Hare, Leah Kenison and Kelsey Libby receiving Senior Awards and Megen Pollini, Brittany Roy and Alley Ripley receiving Captain's Awards.

Chick thanked JV coach Mike Christy, who stepped up to take over the program midway through the season and announced that Pollini had made Second Team All-State.

Girls' lacrosse was next on the agenda and coach Ali Cushing thanked everyone for supporting the team.

"We didn't go as far as we hoped, but we're reenergized for next year," she said.

For the JV team, Marissa Nardello received the Rookie of the Year, Sarah Heath received the Heart Award and the Coach's Award went to Morgan Marston.

For the varsity team, Sam Porter received the Coach's Award and Rachel Lapar picked up the Coast to Coast Award.

Kellie Lander won the Most Improved Player Award, while Molly Gwizdala was named the Offensive Player of the Year. Defensive Player of the Year was Alyssa Berry and Sarah Lovering earned the Knight Award for embodying a true Kingswood Knight.

The final award was presented in honor of Terry Beasley, the team's former bus driver who passed away in an accident last year. The award was given to Erinn Vittum.

Last up on the docket was the boys' lacrosse team. With coach Bill Tappan out of the country, assistant Jim Savage presented the awards.

Alex Boucher and Mackenzie Tetreault were honored with Second Team All-State, while Cam Whitcomb earned Honorable Mention.

Rory Coughlin and Adam Fritchy won Most Improved Player Awards and Tetreault won for Outsanding Offense. The Charlie Hustle Award went to Sebastian Salgado.

Zach McKenzie and Luke Batchelder, both seniors playing for the first time, took home Rookie of the Year honors and goalie Mike Bernier won Defensive Player of the Year.

Sean Diamond won the Coach's Award, Tetreault was honored for scoring his 100th goal and the final awards were presented to Boucher and Whitcomb as the team MVPs.

Alumni Association members Bonnie Lord and Paul Doran thanked the athletes and offered congratulations to all the seniors and announced plans for more activities come the fall and noted they were always looking for volunteers.

Joshua Spaulding can be reached at sportsgsn@salmonpress.com or 569-3126

Salmon Press
Garnett Hill
Northern Human Services
Parker Village
Martin Lord Osman
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com