flag image

SB2 falls just short of passage in Sanbornton

Ober returned to board of selectmen

May 09, 2012
SANBORNTON —Sanbornton residents headed for the polls Tuesday morning to mark their ballots for several openings in town, most of which were uncontested, and to cast yet another vote on one petitioned warrant article proposing a change to SB2 balloting, rather than town meeting to decide on the annual budget and other matters facing voters each year.

Town Clerk/Tax Collector Jane Goss reported 570 out of the 2,044 registered voters came out in the rainy weather to cast their votes, up just slightly over last year's election turnout.

The petitioned proposal for SB2, which Sanbornton voters have faced repeatedly for more than a decade, once again failed to meet the 60-percent majority required for the article to pass. Goss reported there were 305 "Yes" votes and 256 "No" votes, which translated to only 53.5 percent overall.

The only contested race was that for selectman, where incumbent Karen Ober, who served one year due to a vacancy on the board in 2011, received 359 votes over Mark Ryba, who garnered 182 votes.

"I'm really very happy to gain a three-year seat on the board now, and I hope to continue to work with department heads in town," Ober said Tuesday evening. "With heating fuel and gas budgets being stretched, we're going to have to be creative with our spending, and in how we manage the budget in the coming year."

She also looked forward to the completion of the "Y Project" road reconstruction, as well as working toward the development of a maintenance plan for roads in Sanbornton.

In other uncontested openings, Louise Cranton won the vacant seat for Cemetery Trustee with 430 votes cast in her behalf, while Kristen Rathjen was elected to the Library Trustees with 424 votes. Patsy Wells received 467 votes to become the new Town Moderator, Sandra Leighton had 446 votes for an opening with the Supervisors of the Checklist, and Norman Colp's 420 votes gave her the vacant seat for Trustee of the Trust Funds.

Earl Leighton and Jeffrey Jenkins each won a three-year term on the budget committee with 365 and 272 votes, respectively. Write-in votes for a two-year opening on the committee gave Roger Grey the seat over Howard Davine by a vote of 222 to 94. Grey also received 41 votes for the three-year seats both Leighton and Jenkins won.

Sanbornton's Town Meeting was held after the Echo's deadline this past Wednesday evening, but full coverage of the discussions and decisions made that evening will appear

Martin Lord & Osman
Salmon Press
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com