flag image
Joyce Endee

Selectmen positions contested in area towns

February 09, 2012
REGION— Some years it's nearly impossible to fill all of the elected positions in town and school government. This is not one of those years as local races heat up with several people competing for a few prime seats.


Twenty-four people have signed up to the be on the ballot here, including five who are seeking election to the three-year selectman's position – Leonard Shurtleff, Roy Barron, Augie Benson, Robert Freeman, and Francis Lord.

Six people will be vying for two budget committee seats – Belinda Cullen, David Babson, Jr., James Fitzpatrick, David Helme, Kevin Houle, and Bruce Williams.

Moderator Katy Meserve and Treasurer Natalie Hall are both seeking re-election and running unopposed.

Condict "Connie" Billings is the sole candidate for Trustee of Trust Funds and Jane Goodwin is running unopposed for the Supervisor of the Checklist position. Raymond Wright and Aline Wilson are running for two of the three open library trustee positions. Robert Gillette and Roy Barron will compete for one open planning board seat while C.J. "Ski" Kwiatkowski will be trying to unseat longtime incumbent water/sewer commissioner Randy Lyman. Jean Simpson and Leonard Shurtleff are running unopposed for two open planning board seats.

A "Meet the Candidates" night will be held March 5 at 6:30 p.m. at Ossipee Town Hall to give voters a chance to meet and question candidates in preparation for Election Day, March 13.


It's a three-way race in Effingham for the three-year selectmen's seat as Henry Spencer and Ronnie Witham will be vying for the seat in hopes of unseating 12-year selectman John Meisner.

Town clerk/tax collector Marilyn Maughan and Treasurer Laurie Caldwell will be running unopposed seeking re-election to their positions.

Three candidates, George Bull, Michael Cahalane and Paul Potter, will be seeking election to two planning board seats. Celine Bergeron and Carol Pfister are vying for two open library trustee positions, Kate Cauble unopposed for trustee of trust funds, and Tim Eldridge and Michael Cauble are running unopposed for budget committee seats.

There are no candidates for open positions of cemetery trustee, supervisor of the checklist, or one-year budget committee member. As with all positions, voters can write in the name of any person that is not on the ballot.

Meet the Candidates night is scheduled for March 5 at 6:30 p.m. at Effingham Municipal Office on School Street.


Two former selectmen as well as a current one will be vying for a three-year seat on the Board of Selectmen. Incumbent Neal Boyle, John Krebs, and James Brown have all filed for this seat.

Laura Robinson is seeking election as a library trustee; Carol Stansell as supervisor of the checklist; Kim Reis as trustee of trust funds; Peter Park and Janet Meyers for two open planning board positions; and Don Johnson will be seeking re-election as the town's moderator.

Steve Jones, II and Brett Taylor are vying for the three-year school board member position while Carol Stansell and Brandon Knox will compete for the one-year school board position. Don Johnson is seeking re-election as the school district moderator and Dianne Park as the clerk. Michael Gaudette is running for auditor.


Incumbent William Farnum is seeking re-election to his three-year selectman's seat and will be challenged by James Hidden.

In other contested races, Peg DeLong and incumbent Lisa Remick are vying for a six-year Supervisor of the Checklist position while incumbents Steve Gray and David Little hope to regain their planning board seats and will be challenged by David Goodson and Yvonne Staples. Incumbent John Hartley will be challenged by Shawn Bross for the Fireward-East position while Alexander Cook and John Roberts are both seeking a one-year Cemetery Trustee position. John Wheeler is running for the two-year Cemetery Trustee position.

Town Clerk/Tax Collector Kim Noyes Trammel, Treasurer Mary Mills, Moderator Chris Canfield, library trustees Carolyn Hemmingway and Michael Lowrey and Fireward Dana Littlefield are all seeking re-election and running unopposed.

There remain open a Trustee of Trust Funds and a three-year Cemetery Trustee position for which no one filed by last Friday's deadline.

Tamworth is having a Meet the Candidates on March 5 at 7 p.m. at K.A. Brett Elementary School.

In the coming weeks, we will feature interviews with candidates in the contested races. Candidates are encouraged to contact Reporter Mellisa Seamans at 948-0126 or mseamans@roadrunner.com.

Martin Lord Osman
Salmon Press
Garnett HIll
Varney Smith
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com