flag image
Joyce Endee

Filing period now open for 2012 elections

January 25, 2012
The 2012 filing period opened Wednesday, Jan. 25 and continues through Friday, Feb. 3 for all open elected positions in the town and school district.

Open positions for the town include one three-year term on the Board of Selectmen, currently held by John O'Brien; the two-year Moderator position held by Sandra McGonagle; two positions as Supervisor of the Checklist, one two-year term held by Mary Villaume and one six-year term held by Connie Moses; one three-year term as Trustee of Trust Funds, held by Thomas Space; two three-year terms as Trustee of Public Library, held by Robert Kammeraad and Jack Lacombe; three three-year seats on the Budget Committee held by Richard Hickok, David Skip Murphy and Phyllis Corrigan; one three-year term on the Board of Fire Engineers held by William Akerley; and one three-year term as Cemetery Trustee held by Susan Leach.

Openings within the school district include three seats on the school board, one year-long term and two three-year terms; the School District Moderator, a one-year term; the School District Clerk, one-year term; and School District Treasurer, one-year term.

According to Town Clerk/Tax Collector Denise Gonyer, candidates must be a registered voter in the Town of Gilford. Deadline for registering to vote prior to the filing period is Friday, Feb. 3.

The Town Clerk's hours for filing are 8 a.m. through 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, and Thursday, 8 a.m. through 6:30 p.m., except for the last day of the filing period, Feb. 3, during which state law requires the Town Clerk's Office to be open until 5 p.m.

The Deliberative Session on the 2012 town warrant, during which voters will have their only chance to amend the warrant articles up for discussion this year, has been scheduled for Tuesday, Feb. 7 at 7 p.m. in the high school auditorium. The deliberative session on the school district's warrant will take place the following evening (Wednesday, Feb. 8) at the same time and in the same location.

Voting for all town and school district officials and warrant articles will take place Tuesday, March 13.

Martin Lord Osman
Salmon Press
Garnett HIll
Varney Smith
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com