flag image

Sports awards close out the fall season

PROSPECT MOUNTAIN’S sportsmanship award winners pose for a photo during the school’s fall sports awards. Joshua Spaulding. (click for larger version)
November 14, 2011
ALTON — The fall sports season at Prospect Mountain High School officially came to a close on Tuesday, Nov. 8, at the annual fall sports awards ceremony.

"I want to thank all our athletes for their leadership and respect to fellow athletes," athletic director Corey Roux said in welcoming the crowd to the school's auditorium. "Athletics are important for students here at Prospect Mountain. Sportsmanship, teamwork, dedication and pride are just a few of the many lifelong learning experiences students share through athletics."

Roux then went on to thank all the fall coaches and assistant coaches for their time instilling those qualities in the athletes. He also thanked the parents, grandparents and family members for making Prospect an enjoyable place for everyone.

"Your sportsmanship and pride throughout the season has made Prospect Mountain a great role model for all," Roux said.

He then went on to highlight each of the teams and the athletes stood for a round of applause from the audience.

The golf team, under coach Paul Hitchings, won 10 matches this season, the most in school history, and became the first Prospect team to qualify for the state tournament.

The boys' cross country team, under coach John Tuttle, finished second in Gilford and Belmont and ran to a team record time at the State Meet in Manchester, with Drew Tuttle and Mike Fife finishing in the top 25 for Division III.

The girls' cross country team, also with coach Tuttle at the helm, finished second at Moultonborough and Gilford and won the team's first home meet, with senior Emelie Morton leading the way throughout much of the season.

The young JV volleyball team, under the leadership of returning coach Kerry Fitzpatrick, grew by leaps and bounds over the season and finished with nine wins and won the Winnisquam JV tournament.

The varsity volleyball team, also with Fitzpatrick at the helm, returned just two starters from last year's squad, but consistently got better every game with good teamwork and hard work throughout the season. Emily Barrett was also named to Second Team All-State.

The girls' JV soccer team, under first-year coach Andre Van Coesant, showed a passion for the game and played with heart from day one and had some close and exciting matchups throughout the season.

The varsity girls' soccer team, with coach Matt Locke back at the helm, finished fourth in Division III and hosted a quarterfinal playoff game and made its third straight appearance in the Final Four. Kelly Jones also set a school record with 22 regular season goals.

The JV boys' soccer team, under the direction of coach Roy Poslusny, showed a lot of talent and roared to a record of 13-1-1 behind scoring from 15 different players, showing that soccer will continue to be a force at Prospect Mountain.

The varsity boys' soccer team, under the leadership of longtime coach Bubba Noyes, finished 10-6 and qualified for the Division III tournament. Five of the team's six losses were by a goal, as the team was in every game all season. Zack Drouin also set a school record with 23 goals on the year.


Next on the agenda was the NHIAA Sportsmanship Awards, which Assistant Principal Kaitlin Hills passed out. These are given to two athletes on each team, as chosen by the coaches.

For the varsity volleyball team, the winners were Anna Jortikka and Karie Bilodeau, while Minnie Thoroughgood and Jazel Lee were the JV volleyball winners.

From the JV girls' soccer team, Laura Fraser and Sydney Landers were the winners, while senior captains Kirby Beranger and Sahara Brown were the varsity girls' soccer winners.

The JV boys' soccer winners were Jacob Piaseczny and Tucker MacLaughlin and the boys' varsity soccer winners were Austin Perrin and Matt McGinnis.

Jeff Olmsted and Connor Stone were the winners from the golf team.

The boys' cross country winners were Mike Fife and Shane McCartney, while Celeste Banfill and Amanda Zaino were the girls' cross country winners.

The traditional Booster Club Scholar Athlete Awards couldn't be presented because grades hadn't closed yet, but were set to be presented as soon as grades were out.

Those in attendance then viewed a slide show of the season put together by Logan LaRoche and Cathy Fraser.

Individual teams

Players then split up into individual teams, where coaches handed out awards.

For the JV boys' soccer team, Jake Towle, Tony Krivitsky, Joe Perry and Zach Bousquet all received the Coach's Award.

For the JV girls' soccer team, Natalie Hudson was named MVP, while Christina Dagastino was tabbed as Most Improved Player. Meghan Hennessey won the Coach's Award.

For the JV volleyball team, Rosina Montgomery earned the MVP award, while Zoe Wenzel was named Most Improved Player. Nicole Ouellette earned the Coach's Award.

For the golf team, Jay Mousseau took home the MVP award, while Jeff Olmsted was named Most Improved Player and Andrew Hederman was given the Coach's Award.

Drew Tuttle was named MVP of the boys' cross country team, while Dylan Tuttle was named Most Improved Player. Mike Fife won the Coach's Award.

Natie Kendall was the girls' cross country MVP and Signe Therrien earned Most Improved Player. Emelie Morton won the Coach's Award.

For the girls' varsity soccer team, Sahara Brown and Kirby Beranger shared MVP honors, while keeper Shannon Meyer won Most Improved Player. Kelly Jones won the award for Outstanding Contribution.

Emily Barrett was given the MVP for the varsity volleyball team and Ashlee Roy was named Most Improved Player. Xyelle Lewis won the Coach's Award.

For the varsity boys' soccer team, Zack Drouin was given the MVP award for offense and Jake Biscoe won the MVP award for defense. Jason Houghton was presented the Coach's Award and Jake Troy earned the award for Outstanding Contribution.

Joshua Spaulding can be reached at sportsgsn@salmonpress.com or 569-3126

Martin Lord Osman
Salmon Press
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com