flag image

Ossipee Parade winners and Citizen of the Year announced

SUE SIMPSON, pictured here with her son Harry, was awarded this year’s Ossipee Citizen of the Year for her volunteer contributions which include helping to organize this year’s Ossipee Old Home Week. (Mellisa Seamans photo) (click for larger version)
July 07, 2011
OSSIPEE— Following a very sunny and warm Independence Day parade themed "A Time to Remember," the community gathered in the park in the center of town where the parade winners were announced in several categories.

In the youth marching category, the Ossipee Drill Team (which is a program of the Schools Out! Afterschool program at Ossipee Central School) took first place while the girls scouts and Camp Sokokis kids took second and third.

There were plenty of kids on four-wheelers and in the youth vehicles category Lexi Eldridge took first place, Bella White second, and brother and sister Trevor and Brooke Eldridge of Ossipee took third place.

VFW Post #8270 and the ladies auxiliary took first and second place in the marching category while most patriotic went to Spirit of '76 and a red white and blue vehicle driven by Rick Cogswell with his passenger June Loud.

The First Congregational Church took first prize in the Most Beautiful category with their float complete with a tree and panda bear advertising their upcoming summer youth program. Second place went to a mainstay at the annual parade, Jaci Fogarty, riding high top the fire department's tower truck bucket with a beauty queen wave she has perfected over the years.

A red Chevelle and a black Cutlass took the prizes for antique cars with the latter even displaying a smoke show of horsepower when it reached the center of town. A blue Mustang, 1969 Ford truck and International Harvester took the modified cars category while an entry from Berry Sand and Gravel was the only vehicle that placed in the other vehicles category.

Bloomers! of Ossipee took first place in the animals category as the florist decorated a horse ridden by Samantha Theriault. Ben Eldridge of Effingham took second place with the two head of cattle he lead down the parade route.

The best commercial float went to Timberland Power with their float sure to make those standing in the warm sun think snow. This business was also a cup winner in the parade.

Non-commercial floats prizes went to Ossipee Recreation's first place, the Ossipee softball teams celebration of their Carroll County Championship win in second place, and the Ossipee Main Street Program's third place win. Ossipee Recreation's float was also a cup winner.

In a new category, most unique, a float built like a pirate ship called "Pirates of the Ossipeean" took first place while the Grow Family of Ossipee celebrated that it's a time to remember and a great time to be a Boston sports fan with their second place entry.

In a ceremony following the parade, the Ossipee Citizen of the Year was also announced. Susan Simpson, who many know as a secretary at the town hall, was named with this award. It is Simpson's dedication to the VFW post and its ladies auxiliary as well as her work with the Ossipee Old Home Week Committee that earned her this honor.

See more photos of the parade on pages A8 and A9.

Martin Lord Osman
Salmon Press
Littleon Food Coop
Littleon Food Coop
Town of Barnsted
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com