flag image

Ames earns Coach of the Year honors for Division II

COACH PETER AMES talks things over with Kalin Samia during action earlier this season. Ames was named Division II Coach of the Year. Joshua Spaulding. (click for larger version)
June 13, 2011
REGION — Longtime Kennett coach Peter Ames was named the Division II Softball Coach of the Year by the Softball Coaches Association and a number of local players also earned All-State honors.

Ames was honored after guiding his team to a 15-1 regular season record, including a 14-game win streak to open the season.

Kennett senior pitcher Whitney Roberts was the lone local player selected to the Division II First Team.

She was joined by Bedford's Casey Lewis and Heather Fyfe, Coe-Brown's Kelly Worcester and Corrine LeMauk, Goffstown's Gav Risman-Jones and Kaitlyn Johnson, Hollis-Brookline's Kaitlyn Sliger, John Stark's Brittany Hardy, Laconia's Amy Cass and Skyla Farquharson, Lebanon's Molly Whitaker, West's Alyssa Wright, Merrimack Valley's Kaitlyn Warren, Pembroke's Kristen Palmer. Plymouth's Kathleen Towne, Portsmouth's Brianna Keenan and Mariah Crisp, St. Thomas' Molly Abbott, Souhegan's Val Mukai and Trinity's Sam Verney.

Kennett senior catcher Katie Bishop was named to the Division II Second Team, along with Kingswood junior third baseman Megen Pollini, who had one of the top bats on the Knight squad this spring.

Joining them on the Second Team are Bishop Brady's Tegan Dougherty and Ashley Gladu, Con-Val's Marena Brock, Goffstown's Brittany Neuman, Hollis-Brookline's Kirsten Bergen, Kearsarge's Lauren Josefiak, Milford's Jessica Byrne, Plymouth's Courtney DeCosta, Sanborn's Ashley Barker, St. Thomas' Jilia Dastous, Souhegan's Angela Mukai and Windham's Ashley Adamson.

Honorable Mention went to Coe-Brown's MacKenzie Allis, Con-Val's Shauna Whittemore, Merrimack Valley's India Thompson and Emily Laro, Pelham's Elissa Mogauro, Portsmouth's Cielle Collins and Sanborn's Kalie Nicholson.

For Division III, Prospect Mountain's Sahara Brown was selected to the First Team after a solid season behind the plate in her junior year.

She was joined on the First Team by Berlin's Trisha Falardeau and Cassie Martin, Bow's Casey Curley, Campbell's Julia Nolan and Chelsea Canyon, Conant's Kelsey Smith, Fall Mountain's Mallory Fredricksen, Franklin's Kate Laliberte, Gilford's Sydney Strout and Paige Laliberte, Hopkinton's Rachel Grady, Mascoma's Jillian Buckwold, Monadnock's Sara Pelkey, Somersworth's Erica Boulanger, Stevens' Alyssa Nichols and Winnisquam's Carolyn Hajdusek.

The Second Team featured Belmont's Shawna Talbot, Berlin's Sarah Landers, Campbell's Brittany McNulla, Conant's Justine Lambert, Hopkinton's Gabby Forrester, Inter-Lakes' Sophie Swedberg, Monadnock's Becca Davis, Newfound's Kelly Meegan and Morgan Wilson, Newport's Sophie Willis, Raymond's Amelya VanDeWalle and Somersworth's Caitlin Kretschmar.

Honorable Mention went to Franklin's Ashley Corson and Liz Pellerin, Gilford's Molly Dietrich, Somersworth's Shadai Gosselin, Stevens' Danielle Tenney and Winnisquam's Mackenzie Burdick.

AJ Coleman
AB Logging
Varney Smith
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com