flag image
Joyce Endee

Rain doesn't stop paddlers

Bean and Morris post top time in 37th annual Smith River Canoe and Kayak Race

SARAH MACGREGOR and Hayley Smith donned pink flamingo caps for their run down the Smith River on Saturday. Joshua Spaulding. (click for larger version)
May 23, 2011
WOLFEBORO — Participants in annual Great Smith River Canoe and Kayak Race can't be afraid of getting wet.

Therefore, a little bit of rain couldn't keep the competitors down as the 37th annual running of the Wolfeboro Lions Club's race went off on Saturday afternoon.

The rain came down hard prior to the start of the race, but held off for most of the time racers were on the course. The final few finishers encountered raindrops and the awards ceremony was marred by rain as well.

Wolfeboro's Howie Bean and Milton's Suzy Morris recorded the fastest time of the day, racing in the Male/Female Racing Class, as they finished in a time of 25:19. Peter and Travis Heed of Westmoreland had the fastest men's time of the day, racing in the Racing Long Class and finishing in 26:15. The top women's time was recorded by Lorrie Drake of New Durham and Priscilla Reinersten of Contoocook, who clocked in at 31:19 in the Two Women Racing Class. Rick Smith of Newmarket posted the fastest kayak time of the day, finshign in 42:50 t win the Men's Kayak Class.

The top three finishers in each category took home prizes for their efforts.

In the Racing Long Class, the Heeds were the top team, followed by John Steensma of Tuftonboro and Cameron Bierwith of Wolfeboro in 33:28. Wyatt French and Dana Mahar of Wolfeboro took third in 39:44.

Drake and Reinersten were the winners in the Two Women Racing Class.

In the Long Whitewater Racing Class, Brian Battista of Parsonsfield, Maine and John Bragdon of Denmark, Maine finished first in 28:32, followed by Steven Nyman of Amesbury, Mass. and Dave Lameroux of Newburyport, Mass. in 29:18.

In the Mixed Racing Class, Bean and Morris were first, followed by Tom Warner of Westmoreland and Kari Crowe of Campton, who clocked in with the second-fastest time of the day in 25:51. Kurt DeVylder and Christina Dotchin of Wolfeboro finished third in 37:24 and Polly Bush of Mirror Lake and Brett Williams of Wolfeboro finished fourth in 38:42.

Sarah MacGregor of Rochester and Hayley Smith of Boston, Mass. finished first in the Racing Short Class in a time of 59:38, decked out in pink flamingo hats.

Kelli and Brett Conley of Wolfeboro topped the Family Racing Class in 36:46.

Alan Paradise of Pittsfield won the Single Racing Class in 28:07, followed by Brad Helfer of New Durham in 39:00.

The team of Peter Chadwick of Northwood and Tim Chadwick of Watertown, Mass. was tops in the Men's Conventional Class in 32:24. Josh Arnold of Ossipee and Willie Swaffield of Wolfeboro took second in 33:42 and Michael McCarthy of Newington, Conn. and Nick Fomenko of Essex, Conn. finished third in 35:21.

In the Mixed Class, Sarah Dore and Chase Williams of Wolfeboro were first, followed by Sean Joncas of Londonderry and Sara Joncas of Salem, Mass. The team of Richard and Hillary Riel of Turners Falls, Mass. took third overall.

In the Family Class, Don and Mary Kretchmer of Wolfeboro were first, followed by Robert and Catherine Johnston of Vassalboro, Maine. Ben and Atley Corson of Effingham finished third.

In the Two Women Class, Elizabeth Aldrich of Manchester and Christina DiSalvo of Derry were first in 47:05, followed by Donna SanAntonio and Holly Manoogian of Brookfield in 47:08. Kristin Sarvai and Elizabeth Ludwig of Manchester placed third in 53:35.

In the Two Girls Class, Jenna Berry and Emily Harris of Manchester placed first in 52:20, followed by Kelsey Roe and Nicole Morgan of Derry in 54:15. Elizabeth Lavoie and Rebecca Walker of Manchester took third in 54:19.

In the Female Kayak Class, Stephanie Patton of North Easton, Mass. was first, followed by Trish Shibles of Lebanon, Maine and Marie LaFreniere of New Durham.

In the Two-Person Kayak Class, John and Natalie Riel of North Grafton, Mass. were first, followed by Tom and Kyle Ripp of Short Hills, N.J. in second and Bill Ripp of Melville, N.Y. and Bill Cullen of Brooklyn, N.Y. in third.

In the Kayak Male Class, Smith's time was tops, followed by Bob Tuttle of Wolfeboro in 44:21 and Jon Patton of North Easton, Mass. in 48:32.

In the Novice Class, Lauren Noether of Tilton and Eddie Rowell of Boscawen took first, followed by Andre and Daniel deBeer of Wolfeboro and Michael and Peter Jones, also of Wolfeboro.

In the Business Class, Larry Douglas of Barrington and Larry Douglas of Rochester were tops in 35:30, followed by Richard Neal Jr. and Joanne Cameron of Wolfeboro and Richard J. Neal Jr, DDS in 55:41. Timothy Carpenter of Farmington and Mark MacGregor of Rochester took third in 62:50 racing for R.L. Smith Engineering.

In the Old Timers Class, Mark Peters of Nottingham and Don O'Reilly of Kittery, Maine, took first in 37:19, followed by Ed Settino of Wolfeboro and Chris Settino of Burlington, Vt. in 42:20. Zeke Bly of Wolfeboro and Dave Berube of Hartford, Conn. took third in 43:05 and Dave Denby and Bob O'Keefe of Wolfeboro were fourth in 62:08.

Bill Swaffield of Kingswood Press was presented the Barry Lougee Award at the conclusion of the race. The award is given annually to the person whose consistent and selfless support of the Smith River Canoe and Kayak Race has exemplified the spirit of Barry Lougee. Kingswood Press supports the race by donating the printing of the race registration forms and rules.

Additionally, the Wolfeboro Lions Club held a raffle in conjunction with the race and Richard Knibbs of Somerville, Mass. was the winner of the cash prize.

All proceeds from the race and the raffle go to benefit the Lions Club Scholarship Fund.

All told, 98 vessels took to the water for the 37th annual race, which is a right of spring in Wolfeboro.

Salmon Press
Martin Lord & Osman
Varney Smith
Garnett HIll
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com