flag image

Winter season wraps up at Kennett High School

THE MAJOR AWARD WINNERS at Kennett’s sports awards last week pose for a photo. Front row (l to r), Logan Spoor (hockey), Pete Grzesik (ski jumping), Hannah Benson (Nordic skiing), Matt Lautenschlager (boys’ basketball), Melissa Frase (girls’ basketball), Sam Meader (girls’ basketball) and Allie Wagner (girls’ basketball). Back row (l to r), Amber McPherson (alpine skiing), Taylor Gardella (alpine skiing), Emily Leich (alpine skiing), Carter Butler (alpine skiing), Tristin Weber (alpine skiing), Nick Jenis (indoor track), Dalton L’Heureux (indoor track), Hannah Wright (indoor track), Maddy Smith (indoor track) and Vicky Weigold (indoor track). Not present for the picture were Jordan Lemerise (alpine skiing) and Henney Sullivan (Nordic skiing). Joshua Spaulding. (click for larger version)
April 04, 2011
NORTH CONWAY — Thursday, March 31, marked the official end of the winter sports season at Kennett High School and it also marked the end of the stellar basketball coaching career of Peter Ames.

The longtime Eagle coach, who during his tenure on the hardcourt at Kennett has coached both boys and girls, was honored upon announcing his retirement at the end of the program.

Ames received a standing ovation from the crowd of student-athletes, family members and fellow coaches as he was honored for both his 300th career win and his retirement. Athletic Director Kerry Brady presented him with a plaque in honor of his milestone win, while senior captains Allie Wagner, Melissa Frase and Sam Meader presented Ames with a plaque in honor of his career.

"He gave many great years to the Kennett basketball program," Brady said. "We really appreciate all the hard work he's given to the teams."

Prior to the presentations to Ames, the major award winners for each of the winter sports were honored and the entire group saw a slide show put together by Levi Bescoes and other students in the graphic arts department.

Brady started out the evening by thanking all of the volunteers who helped make the season possible, from the volunteer assistant coaches to the parents who helped out at every step.

"A lot of what we do throughout the winter would not be possible without the all the people who volunteer," Brady said.

First on the agenda was the Karl Seidenstuecker Award for boys' basketball, presented by coach Steve Coté in honor of the longtime legendary Kennett basketball coach. It is given to the athlete who demonstrates coachability, leadership and sportsmanship and was presented to senior captain Matt Lautenschlager.

Ski coach Laurel Zengilowski took the podium next to present three awards.

The Charles Broomhall Nordic Award is presented to students who showed leadership, sportsmanship and dedication to the cross-country ski team and was presented to Hannah Benson and Henney Sullivan.

The Alpine Skiing Award, formerly the Damon O'Neal Award (that award was turned into a scholarship) is given to the athletes who demonstrate leadership, dedication to the team and the sport of alpine skiing. The award was given to the team's seniors, Tritin Weber, Carter Butler, Taylor Gardella, Emily Leich, Jordan Lemerise and Amber McPherson.

The Ski Jumping Award, given to someone who showed dedication to ski jumping and a commitment to leadership on and off the snow, was given to Pete Grzesik.

It was also noted that the Kennett ski jumping team was given the NHIAA Sportsmanship Award for its actions during the ski jumping season.

The Jim Terry Award is given in honor of Jim Terry, who started the Kennett hockey program and was the coach of the first varsity teams at Kennett. Terry was on hand to present the award along with coach Mike Lane. The award was given to senior captain Logan Spoor.

Lane also honored his entire senior class, as they made four trips to the title game and won two championships in their time at Kennett. This year's seniors are Jonny Parkhurst, Nick Kevlin, Chuckie Smith and Spoor.

Dillon Smith, Parkhurst, Spoor and Kevin Murphy also earned All-State honors.

Coach Bernie Livingston presented the Indoor Track Award to the students who, on the track and in school show loyalty and sportsmanship as both followers and leaders. The girls' team winners were Maddy Smith, Vicky Weigold and Hannah Wright. The boys' team winners were Nick Jenis and Dalton L'Heureux.

Frase was then honored for scoring her 1,000th career point before Ames took the podium to present the Russ Award for girls' basketball.

The award, given in honor of longtime coach Bob Russell, is given for leadership, sportsmanship and dedication to the sport of basketball, and was presented to Meader, Wagner and Frase.

Salmon Press
Martin Lord Osman
Littleon Food Coop
Littleon Food Coop
Town of Barnsted
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com