flag image

Prospect community celebrates successful season

SPENCER GOOSSENS adds some whipped cream to his ice cream as Allison LaRoche awaits her turn following Prospect Mountainís sports awards last Tuesday. Joshua Spaulding. (click for larger version)
November 15, 2010
ALTON — The Prospect Mountain athletic community gathered on Tuesday, Nov. 9, to commemorate a successful fall sports season.

Athletic Director Corey Roux opened the ceremony by stressing the importance of extra curricular activities at Prospect Mountain.

"Teamwork, cooperation, dedication and sportsmanship are just a few of the very important life long learning experiences students share through athletics at Prospect Mountain High School," Roux said. "I thank all the coaches for instilling those qualities in their athletes all season."

Roux also thanked the parents, grandparents, family members and friends who helped to make Prospect Mountain a great place for everyone to watch sports. He then introduced all the teams to a round of applause.

The golf team, under coach Paul Hitchings improved throughout the season and won a total of seven matches, the best record in school history. Zach LeRoy and Jay Mousseau qualified for the state tournament.

The boys' cross country team, under coach John Tuttle, made great strides throughout the season, with freshman Drew Tuttle breaking the course record on the home course and finishing 22nd in the state meet. Senior Ben McGinnis also set new bests as the team consistently improved its times.

The girls' cross country squad, also under the tutelage of Tuttle, finished eighth at the Division III State Meet and set a new team record for overall time at the meet, besting the old time by four minutes. Senior Courtney Bennett was 10th in the state meet and earned a spot in the Meet of Champions.

With only one returning starter from a year ago, the JV volleyball team, under new coach Jess Shearn, worked hard and worked together to overcome numerous challenges and finished with a bang, winning its last four games of the season.

The varsity volleyball team, with new coach Karen Pearson at the helm, finished fourth in Division III with a 14-4 record, the best in school history. The team hosted two playoff games and Sydney Robertson earned First Team All-State honors, while Jess Bibbo earned Honorable Mention.

The JV girls' soccer team featured a young group of players who worked hard to improve their individual skills and game plan under coach Shannon Reubelt. They showed a great attitude and great sportsmanship throughout the season.

The girls' varsity soccer team, under coach Matt Locke, finished at 11-3-3 and made the Division III semifinals for the second year in a row, using exceptional teamwork and sportsmanship along the way. For the third year in a row, the team did not receive one yellow card.

The boys' JV soccer team, with coach Roy Poslusny at the helm, used hard work and dedication, improving every day throughout the season to finish at 7-6-3. Fourteen different players scored and six players netted more than four goals on the season.

The varsity boys' soccer team, under the leadership of veteran coach Bubba Noyes, finished fourth in Division III with a 15-3 record and played into the semifinals for the fourth time in five years, once again showing great sportsmanship and professionalism throughout the season.

Roux then called on Principal J. Fitzpatrick to hand out the NHIAA Sportsmanship Awards, which are given to two athletes from each team who showed outstanding sportsmanship through the season.

Greg Tinkham and Ben McGinnis were the boys' cross country team winners, while Bennett and Emelie Morton won on the girls' cross country team.

Corey Lobdell and Brad Bugieda were the two winners from the golf team.

For JV volleyball, Zoe Wendell and Anna Jortikka were the winners, while Bryanna DeCoff and Stephanie Pryor were the varsity volleyball winners.

Hannah Dahmen and Shannon Mercer were the winners for the JV girls' soccer team, while Sarah Clifford and Kelsey Hannafin took home the awards for the varsity girls' soccer team.

Bryan Gavill and Dylan Hennessey won the awards for the JV boys' soccer team and Jesse Brown and Tinkham were the winners for the varsity boys' soccer team.

Roux then called Cathy Conway-Frangione, the president of the Timber Wolf Booster Club, to the podium. While the Booster Club normally awards its Scholar-Athlete Awards at the ceremony, grades had not been completed and it was announced that the winners would be notified once grades closed and the calculations were made.

Conway-Frangione did go on to congratulate all the athletes on a great season.

"You made quite an exciting start to our year," she said. "Hopefully it all continues to be exciting."

She also went on to describe some of the things the Booster Club will be doing.

First on the list is the purchase of team chairs for the basketball teams this winter. They will also be used for the volleyball teams next fall.

The runner-up banner for the boys' track and field team for last season will be made and presented at the spring sports awards.

The club is also working on getting signs to direct visitors to the back area of the school, where baseball, tennis and JV soccer are played.

The 50/50 raffle at the basketball games will now include a beanie toss to add more excitement.

Conway-Frangione also thanked all the parents who worked the concession stands at the games this fall.

The Booster Club meets the second Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the cafeteria at the high school and she noted that all are welcome to join in.

Team awards

Following the main ceremony, teams went their separate ways for the team awards.

For the varsity boys' soccer team, Noyes presented the Most Valuable Player Award to Jesse Brown and Anthony Frangione. Greg Tinkham took home the Coach's Award and Jake Biscoe won the Most Improved Player Award. Jake Rochette, Spencer Goossens, Zack Drouin and Ben Couch all took home Outstanding Contributor Awards.

For the JV boys' soccer team, Poslusny gave his MVP Award to Mike Fife, while Chris Whalen and Peter Benenate each earned the Coach's Award.

For the varsity girls' soccer team, Locke presented the MVP Awards to Danielle Tidd and Sahara Brown. Cheyanne Harris earned the Most Improved Player Award and Sarah Clifford won the Outstanding Contributor Award.

For the JV girls' soccer team, Reubelt gave Lindsey Mucher the MVP Award, while Dagney Brown won the MVP Defense Award. Samantha Health was awarded the Most Improved Player Award and Kali Gadomski won the Coach's Award.

Sydney Robertson won the MVP for the varsity volleyball program, while Pearson presented Stephanie Burke with the Most Improved Player Award. Jessica Bibbo won the Coach's Award.

For the JV volleyball team, Karie Bilodeau and Ashlee Roy were given the Coach's Award, while Emerson Doiron was presented the Most Improved Player Award.

For the golf team, Zach LeRoy was presented the MVP Award by Hitchings, while Corey Lobdell won the Most Improved Player Award. Jay Mousseau won the Coach's Award.

Drew Tuttle won the MVP Award for the boys' cross country team and Ben McGinnis won the Coach's Award.

Courtney Bennett won the MVP for the girls' cross country team and Kelcey Marsan won the Most Improved Player Award. Cristina Varney won the Coach's Award and Renee Coppola won the Outstanding Freshman Girl honors.

Martin Lord Osman
Martin Lord & Osman
Varney Smith
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com