flag image

Lynch is only Democrat to win in Carroll County

Republicans sweep all other contests, defeating county incumbents

November 04, 2010
REGION — Republican candidates in all contests except one swept to victory in Carroll County this election. The exception was Governor John Lynch, who managed to win a fourth term in statewide balloting and squeaked to victory in county voting, thanks mostly to a strong showing in Conway.

Incumbent Democrats, such as County Attorney Robin Gordon and Carroll County Commissioner Chip Albee, were swept from office in a strong voter turnout.

In the Governor's race Lynch won the countywide vote on a margin of 157 votes, 9964 to John Stephen's 9807. Lynch won most towns in the northern part of the county, especially Conway, where he pulled ahead of Stephen 1816 to 1365. Lynch lost to Stephen in Ossipee 642 votes to 775, in Wakefield 748 to 989. In Effingham 247 to 275, in Freedom 341 to 358. Besides Conway, Lynch prevailed in Albany, Bartlett, Eaton, Jackson, Madison, Sandwich and Tamworth.

In the race for the U.S. Senate seat Kelly Ayotte prevailed in every town in the county, north to south, usually by large margins. The only place where Paul Hodes came close was in Sandwich, where he lost 403 to 406. The margins in area towns were 2034 to 1023 in Wolfeboro, 964 to 421 in Ossipee, 1796 to 1291 in Conway, and 1249 to 456 in Wakefield.

The race for U.S. Representative for the First District was closer, but Frank Guinta won Carroll County overall by a vote of 10,153 to Carol Shea-Porter's 7991. Shea-Porter won in seven towns (Albany, Bartlett. Conway, Eaton, Jackson, Madison and Sandwich), gaining her largest margin in Conway (1618 to 1476). Guinta prevailed everywhere else, in Wolfeboro by a margin of 1812 to 1214, in Ossipee by 812 to 559, in Moultonborough by 1381 to 717, and in Wakefield by 1096 to 571.

In the race for State Senate District 3, Jeb Bradley comfortably defeated fellow Wolfeboro resident Beverly Woods by a county margin of 11,436 to 6158 in an incomplete tally. Woods did not win in any town that reported results at press time. In Wolfeboro the margin was 2117 to 982, in Ossipee 967 to 454, in Conway 1894 to 1241 and in Wakefield 1223 to 496.

In N.H. House races, Republicans prevailed in all area contests. In District 1, which includes Bartlett, Chatham, Conway, Hale's Location, Hart's Location and Jackson, Democratic incumbents Tom Buco of Conway and Ed Butler of Hart's Location were turned out by Republican challengers Frank McCarthy of Conway and Laurie Pettingill of Bartlett. Incumbent Republicans Gene Chandler of Bartlett and Karen Umberger of Conway won re-election.

In District 2, which includes Albany, Eaton, and Madison, Republican Norm Tregenza defeated Bob Brigham by a total vote of 749 to 717.

In District 3, which includes Freedom, Ossipee, Sandwich, and Tamworth, Republicans Dave Babson, Harry Merrow and Mark McConkely prevailed with total votes of 2037, 2141 and 2174 respectively, turning out Susan Wiley, who came in fourth with 1889 votes.

In District 5, which includes Brookfield, Effingham and Wakefield, incumbent Republicans Joe Fleck and Dino Scala easily defeated Democratic challengers Jeff Ballard and Martha Pike. Pike even lost in her home town of Brookfield where she gained only 135 votes vs. 213 for Scala, 198 for Fleck and 125 for Ballard. In Wakefield, the results were Scala 1186, Fleck 1110, Pike 455 and Ballard 446. Results were closer in Effingham, but the Republicans still came out on top with Fleck winning 274 votes, Scala 263, Pike 220 and Ballard 206.

In the Carroll County races, Republicans came out ahead in all contests. Incumbent Sheriff Chris Conley survived a challenge by Domenic Richardi on an overall county vote of 10,046 to 9139. Richardi, however, did win in 12 towns (Albany, Bartlett, Chatham, Conway, Eaton, Effingham, Freedom, Jackson, Madison, Ossipee, Sandwich and Tamworth). Conley drew his largest support from his hometown of Wolfeboro, where he bested Richardi 2106 to 878. Richardi returned the compliment in Conway, where he prevailed 2016 to 1082.

Incumbent Democratic County Attorney Ruth Gordon lost to Republican challenger Tom Dewhurst by a county margin of 8072 to 9702. She won only six towns (Conway, Eaton, Effingham, Jackson, Madison, and Sandwich).

Incumbent Democratic County Commissioner Chip Albee, who had just been named County Commissioner of the Year, lost to Republican challenger Asha Kenney by a margin of 8720 to 9902. Albee won in nine towns (Albany, Bartlett, Conway, Eaton, Effingham, Jackson, Madison, Sandwich and Tamworth), not including his hometown of Tuftonboro, where he lost by a margin of 544 votes to Kenney's 625, or in Wolfeboro, where he lost 1286 to 1626.

Republican Jack Widmer of Tuftonboro won the County Treasurer race over Democrat Maureen Westrick-Forbes by a county margin of 11,086 to 7039. Westrick-Forbes won only three towns (Conway, Eaton and Sandwich) by narrow margins.

Incumbent Republican Register of Probate Gail Monet easily defeated Democratic challenger Ruth Hall by a county vote of 11,973 to 6476. Hall did not win in any of 17 towns reporting.

County Commissioner Dave Sorensen and County Register of Deed Ann Aiton, both incumbent Republicans, ran unopposed.

Martin Lord Osman
Martin Lord & Osman
Varney Smith
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com