flag image

Primary Day vote results bring few surprises

September 22, 2010
COS COUNTY — There were few surprises on Primary Day, Sept. 14.

Berlin provided an exception with two-term incumbent Rep. Paul Ingersoll of Berlin losing his bid for the Democratic nomination for a third term.

A newcomer, Berlin Fire Captain Gary Coulombe of Berlin, was the top Democratic vote-getter for state representative with 734 votes in all four Berlin wards and Milan. He bested the next candidate, incumbent Rep. Robert Theberge, also of Berlin, who tallied 679 votes, by 57 votes. Incumbent Rep. Yvonne Thomas garnered 612 votes, and newcomer Vivian L'Heureaux, both of Berlin, 401.

Rep. Ingersoll held the anchor spot with 372 votes and will not be on the November 2 ballot.

Asked later in the week how he felt about his defeat, Rep. Ingersoll said that he believes he worked hard and did a good job representing Berlin and Milan. A new opportunity that he was not yet at liberty to discuss could take him to Washington, D.C., however, he said.

Republicans fielded two candidates, both newcomers who ran unopposed: Marc Tremblay of Berlin, who received 482 votes, and Lisa Cordwell, 454 votes. Four Democrats will face two Republicans for four District 4 seats.

John Stephen was overwhelmingly Cos' favorite Republican gubernatorial candidate, with 1,489 votes; Jack Kimball, 782; Karen Testerman, 255; and Frank Emiro, 92. The former HHS commissioner carried every town and all four Berlin wards.

On the Democratic side, incumbent Gov. John Lynch had 1,624 votes, with Frank Sullivan tallying 167 and Tim Robertson, 110. Gov. Lynch carried every town in Cos plus all four Berlin wards.

Kelly Ayotte carried the county on the Republican side for the U. S. Senate nomination with 1,263 votes. Ovide Lamontagne polled 1,004 votes. Former AG Ayotte carried every town in Cos except Milan and Stratford, tied Lamontagne in Dummer, but only carried Ward 3 in Berlin, with Lamontagne besting her in Wards 1, 2 and 4. Across the county, Bill Binnie received 283 votes, and Jim Bender, 217.

Democratic Congressman Paul Hodes, who is seeking the Senate seat being vacated by Republican Sen. Judd Gregg, garnered 1,657 votes in Cos.

Former Republican Congressman Charlie Bass, who lost his seat four years ago, won his party's nomination in the 2nd Congressional District with a total of 27,457 votes; Jennifer Horn, 22,868; and Frank Guinta, 11,145.

On the Democratic side in the 2nd C.D., Ann McLane Kuster trounced Katrina Swett, 25,431 to 10,100.

Two Republicans ran for the two District 1 state rep. seats: incumbent Rep. Larry Rappaport of Colebrook, 546 votes, and newcomer Duffy Daugherty, who filed to fill the seat being vacated by Rep. Eric Stohl of Columbia, 373 votes.

No Democrat in District 1 sought the nomination.

In District 2, four Republicans won their party's nomination for the four seats available: incumbent Rep. John Tholl of Whitefield was the top vote-getter with 742; incumbent Rep. Herb Richardson of Lancaster, 717; incumbent Rep. Bill Remick, also of Lancaster, 691; and Eric Catman of Stark, 520.

The Democrats only fielded three candidates for the four seats in District 2: incumbent Rep. Evalyn Merrick of Lancaster was the top vote-getter with 468; Troy Merner, also of Lancaster, 327; and Eugene Montgomery of Groveton, 310.

In District 3, the Republican nomination went to former state Rep. Bruce Lary of Gorham with 217 votes, and the Democratic nomination to incumbent Rep. Bill Hatch, also of Gorham, with 194.

Two head-to-head county races are also shaping up. Incumbent District 2 county commissioner Tom Brady of Jefferson garnered 972 votes to win re-nomination. Democratic challenger and Jefferson selectman Norm Brown won his party's nomination with 478 votes.

Michael Neil of Berlin won 2263 votes to win the Republican nomination for register of deeds.

Incumbent register of deeds Carole Lamirande of Gorham won the Democratic nomination with 591 votes.

Martin Lord & Osman
Martin Lord Osman
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com