flag image

Kennett sports community celebrates spring season

Kennett Sports Award ceremony held June 9

The major award winners at the Kennett spring sports awards pose with their awards. Front row (l to r), Thomas Stapinski (boys’ tennis), Marissa Strong (softball), Matt Halupowski (lacrosse) and Casey Blakely (girls’ tennis). Back row (l to r), Jeff Sires (baseball), Michael Larson (baseball), Liza Townsend (track), Zach Switaj (track) and Dalton L’Heureux (track). Missing from the photo is Beth Kennett (track) (Joshua Spaulding Photo). (click for larger version)
June 17, 2010
"They put in a lot of time," Brady said.

The assistant, volunteer and JV coaches for the spring season included Chris Kevlin, Danny Quint and Brian Day for the baseball team, Tim Livingston, Ken Sciacca, Peter Kondrat and Kathleen Murdough for the track team, Laurel Zengilowski for the softball team, Garrett Meador and Luke Ray for the lacrosse team and Robert Kimnach and Mike Mallet for the girls' tennis team.

She also thanked the parents and fans who supported the teams throughout the spring season.

"It's great to see our sidelines lined with numerous fans," she commented.

Brady also offered thanks to Mountain Center Physical Therapy and trainer Andy Trowbridge, who helps keep the Eagle athletes healthy and ready to play all season long.

First up on the awards list was the Girls' Tennis Award, which coach Jon Judge stated was presented to the player who showed sportsmanship, dedication to the sport and her team and a pursuit of academic excellence. The award was given to sophomore Casey Blakely.

The Boys' Tennis Award, presented by coach Chris Bailey is given to the player who shows sportsmanship, leadership and dedication to Kennett High School and the sport of tennis. The award was given to Thomas "Boonie" Stapinski, the team's number one singles player.

Baseball coach Bob Burns took the podium next to present the Jack Burns Memorial Award, which is given in memory of the coach's father, who played in the Major Leagues from 1929 to 1936. It is given to players who show loyalty, dedication and leadership and was presented to senior captains Jeff Sires and Michael Larson.

Coach Peter Ames, whose softball team had won its semifinal matchup with Souhegan the previous night, took the podium to present the Softball Award, which is given to a senior who has played four seasons at the varsity level and displayed good sportsmanship throughout her career. The award was presented to third baseman Marissa Strong.

The Boys' Lacrosse Award was presented by coach Matt Haley. He gave the award to the team's Most Valuable Player, the player who stepped up and filled in at the hardest position, goalie, when the starter went down. The award went to Matt Halupowski.

Last on the agenda was track coach Bernie Livingston. He started with the Track and Field Award, which is given to the athletes who, on the track and in the school, best demonstrate loyalty to Kennett, citizenship and sportsmanship as followers and leaders. The award was given to Dalton L'Heureux, Zach Switaj, Liza Townsend and Beth Kennett.

Livingston then presented the Don Trimble Track and Field Award for the most valuable team members in track and field competition. The award went to Switaj and Townsend.

Brady then presented a special award to Larson and Scotty Saunders. They were recognized as three-sport athletes by the New Hampshire Interscholastic Athletic Association, which means they played three sports all four years of their high school career.

Finally, the largest ovation of the night came when Brady thanked Judge for his 28 years of service as girls' tennis coach. The longtime mentor announced that this past season was his final year at the helm and the audience gave him a standing ovation for his dedication to Kennett High School sports.

Cobb Construction
Salmon Press
PArkerVillager Internal Page
Martin Lord Osman
Garnett Hill
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com