flag image

Winter season comes to a close at PMHS

4X400-METER relay members (l to r) Tony Ungarelli, Greg Tinkham, Adam Cheney and Ben McGinnis, pose with coach John Tuttle after receiving their plaques for taking first place in the event at the Class I, M and S Meet. Joshua Spaulding. (click for larger version)
March 22, 2010
ALTON — The winter sports season officially came to a close at Prospect Mountain High School last Tuesday night, as student-athletes were honored for their accomplishments during the winter season.

Athletic director Corey Roux welcomed the parents, athletes and community members to the annual ceremony and expressed his thanks to everyone involved in the winter sports season for making it a successful one.

He then recapped the accomplishments of each of the teams.

Individual gymnast Haley Farnham competed with more than 100 competitors at the state meet and came home with an 18th place finish overall.

The alpine ski team, under coach Bruce Davol, had its most successful season to date, picking up a win at Ragged Mountain and numerous top four finishes throughout the season. The boys were sixth overall at the Division III championships.

The indoor track team, with coach John Tuttle at the helm, broke seven school indoor track records. Caitlin Hussey was second in the shot put at the Class I, M and S championships, while the team of Tony Ungarelli, Greg Tinkham, Ben McGinnis and Adam Cheney won the 4X400-meter relay. Both the relay team and Hussey advanced to the New England Championships.

The spirit team, under first-year coach Shakira Giordano, provided great support for the teams with exciting halftime routines and worked hard and put in many hours before finishing off the season with a great effort at the Class M-S championships.

The JV girls' basketball team, coached by Rebecca Morse, finished at 11-7 on the season, overcame many challenges along the way and worked hard to better themselves over the course of the season.

The varsity girls' basketball team had its most successful season to date, finishing 14-4 and earning the team's first home playoff berth. Kelsey Hopper (First Team) and Rachel Roberge (Honorable Mention) earned All-State honors and coach Jeri Blair was named Class M Coach of the Year.

Members of the JV boys' basketball team, under coach Mike Joy, showed great individual improvement and tremendous team growth in winning eight games and keeping others very close, offering a bright future for the boys' team.

Varsity boys' hoop coach Rob Carpenter had some big shoes to fill from last year's runners-up, but with hard work, dedication and teamwork, the squad got back into the playoffs with a 10-8 record. Zack Drouin earned All-State Honorable Mention.

The ceremony continued with the NHIAA Sportsmanship Awards, given to two players from each team, chosen by the coaches, who demonstrated outstanding sportsmanship throughout the season. Principal Jay Fitzpatrick helped present these awards.

Lauren Stearns and Zack Couch were the winners from the alpine ski team. Caitlin Hussey and Courtney Bennett were the winners from the girls' indoor track team, while Ben McGinnis and Adam Cheney were the winners on the boys' side.

Kristina Bishop and Mariah Blanchette took the honors for the spirit team, while Farnham was the winner for gymnastics.

Kristine Adams and Stephanie Burke were the JV girls' basketball winners and Sydney Robertson and Allison LaRoche were the varsity girls' basketball winners.

Brian Lizotte and Travis Podmore were the winners for the JV boys' hoop team and Greg Tinkham and Spencer Goossens were the boys' varsity basketball team winners.

Cathy Conway-Frangione, president of the Booster Club, took the stage next for the Scholar-Athlete Awards. She was joined on stage by Deb Bennett and Dawn Farnham.

She reported that more than 40 parents and friends helped run the basketball concession stand and named Ben Jones as the Volunteer of the Season for his help in getting the concession stand ready before almost every single game.

All honored scholar-athletes got a certificate and those being honored for the second time this year also received a pin.

For the indoor track team, Courtney Bennett, Kirby Beranger and Matt McGinnis were all honored, with all three receiving pins.

For the spirit team, Heather Hooker, Mariah Blanchette, Taylor Dwyer and Anna Jortikka received honors, with Jortikka receiving a pin.

Farnham was the gymnastics honoree, while Tyler Finethy received a pin and was the lone member of the alpine ski team to be honored.

Daryn Clevesy and Kelly Jones were the JV basketball girls earning the certificate, while Emily Barrett, Martha Rasbridge, Stephanie Burke, Rebecca Krivitsky and Kristine Adams all earned pins.

For the varsity girls' basketball team, Sarah Adams and Kristi Maciejewski each earned certificates, while Kelsey Hopper and Sydney Robertson earned pins.

Sean Perkins was the lone JV boys' hoop player to earn a certificate.

LA Thomas earned a certificate for the boys' varsity hoop team, while Ben Couch, Anthony Frangione, Spencer Goossens and Austin Perrin all earned a pin.

Following a slide show, which was put together by student Ben Casoni, teams split up for individual awards before sitting down for an ice cream buffet in the cafeteria.

Team awards

For the boys' varsity basketball team, Zack Drouin earned MVP honors, while Austin Perrin was named Most Improved Player. LA Thomas and Brian Jones each took home the Coach's Award.

For the JV boys' hoop team, Ethan Henderson was named MVP and Logan Roberts was named Most Improved Player. Jay Mousseau earned the Coach's Award.

For the girls' varsity basketball team, Kelsey Hopper and Rachel Roberge shared MVP honors, while Sahara Brown was named Most Improved Player. Michelle Lizotte earned the Coach's Award.

For the JV girls' hoop team, Rebecca Krivitsky was named the MVP and Patricia Gage was the Most Improved Player. Emily Barrett and Kristine Adams each won the Coach's Award.

For the alpine ski team, Kyle Rondeau was named MVP and Jesse Emerson was named Most Improved Player. Tyler Finethy won the Coach's Award.

For indoor track, Caitlin Hussey won the MVP for the girls and Adam Cheney won the MVP for the boys. Courtney Bennett won the Coach's Award for the girls and Greg Tinkham was the winner for the boys. Tony Ungarelli won the Most Improved Player.

Haley Farnham was the MVP for gymnastics.

For the spirit team, Kelsey Hannafin was named MVP and Taylor Dwyer was given the Most Improved Player award. Heather Hooker won the Coach's Award.

Littleton Chmber
Varney Smith
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com