flag image

Valley Squirt team splits first tourney games, competes for title

MOUNT WASHINGTON VALLEY moves the puck out of the zone during action March 14 in Wolfeboro. Kathy Sutherland. (click for larger version)
March 23, 2010
WOLFEBORO — The Mount Washington Valley Squirts split the first two games of the Seacoast Hockey League tournament in Wolfeboro March 12 and 14.

Mount Washington opened the tournament with an exciting 3-2 overtime win against Back Bay on Friday, March 12.

The Valley kids opened the scoring with 10:43 to play in the first period, as Stephen Seavey lit the lamp for a 1-0 lead.

Back Bay roared back with two goals in the final 3:16 of the first period, taking a 2-1 lead to the second period.

Mount Washington Valley finally got back on the board with 1:38 to play in the second period, as Bowen Greenleaf scored to tie the game at two. Jack Johnston and Jeffrey Palmer assisted.

The two teams played a scoreless third period and with 2:54 to play in the first overtime, Seavey sent in a shot that was deflected over the Back Bay goalie's head and into the net for the 3-2 win.

Mount Washington Valley returned to Wolfeboro on Sunday, March 14, for a game with Concord, with the winner earning an automatic berth in the championship game.

Concord came out and scored two goals in the first period and one in the second.

MWV managed just one goal, that coming with 3:17 to play in the second period, as Connor Doucet lit the lamp with an assist to Caleb McPherson.

Concord added three goals in the third period to skate away with a 6-1 win.

Mount Washington Valley and Back Bay played on Saturday, March 20, at 10 a.m. in Rochester for a chance to play Concord in the finals. MWV won that game by a 3-1 score to earn the bid to the finals. Results of the finals were not known as of press time Monday.

The Mount Washington Valley Squirts are John Biggio, Kelsey Bush, Colby Couture, Connor Doucet, Ben Eldridge, Mark Foisey Jr., Bowen Greenleaf, Cole Gregg, Kyle Kimball, Caleb McPherson, Jack Johnston, Kenzie Murphy, Jeffrey Palmer, Riley Parkhurst and Stephen Seavey.

Dwight & Sns
Morrison Communities
NFI North
Forestview Manor
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com