flag image

Storm and Goodgame win contests in Wolfeboro

Voters approve abolishing the HDC

March 11, 2010
WOLFEBORO — Former planning board member Chuck Storm won a clear victory in the four-way race selectman race to replace Kristi Ginter for a three-year term.

Storm led the voting with 538 votes. School Board member Charlene Seibel came in second with 412 votes, followed by Laurie Jones with 305 votes and Gary Watson with 263.

In the three-way race for police commissioner for three years, former commissioner Ron Goodgame eased by incumbent Ben Ladd by a margin of 600 votes to 560. George Hutchinson came in third for the single seat with 277 votes.

All of the other candidates for open positions ran unopposed and were elected: Randy Walker was reelected as Moderator for two years; John Burt was reelected as Treasurer for one year; Dick Shurleff won a three-year term as Trustee of Trust Funds; Linda Matchett will serve three years as library trustee; and Tom O'Dowd was reelected a Supervisor of the Checklist for six years. Jim Eisenhower, Frank Giebutowski and Bob Tougher were elected to three-year terms on the Budget Committee and Kathy Barnard and David DeVries secured three-year terms on the Wolfeboro planning board.

Warrant article results

Two of the six bonded warrant articles failed to get the 3/5 vote (60 percent) needed to pass. Article 14 Reconstruct and Resurface Basketball and Tennis Courts at Foss Field was approved by 58.2 percent of voters (871 yes, 626 no), just 1.8 percent short of what was needed, and Article 16 ADA Improvements-Beach Bathhouses received only 43.7 percent approval (650 yes, 836 no).

The other four bonded articles did pass by relatively comfortable margins: Article 11 Center Street Drainage Upgrades, 82.5 percent (1,266 yes, 269 no); Article 12 Replace Water Lines in Glendon and Lehner Street and Other Downtown Streets, 84.6 percent (1,304 yes, 238 no); Article 13 ADA Improvements-Pop Whalen Arena, 68.1 percent (1,048 yes, 491 no); and Article 15 Smith River Streambank Stabilization, 67.3 percent (988 yes, 480 no).

All of the remaining money articles, which required only majority votes, passed as well, including Article 17 2010 Operating Budget and Article 19 Repairs to Brewster Hall.

The most controversial article was Article 9 Petition Abolishment of the Historic District Commission (HDC). It passed by a vote of 997 to 537, a margin of 460 votes that reflected strong dissatisfaction with the current board. Article 10, another petitioned article, which would have created another HDC just for the Cotton Mountain Historic District, failed badly by a vote of 1,166 to 276.

Article 36, which was originally proposed as an advisory article calling for a referendum on the definition of marriage and changed to the Deliberative Session to commend the governor and legislature "for supporting equal marriage rights for all New Hampshire citizens," was turned down by a vote of 805 no to 646 yes.

A tabulation of complete voting results will appear in next week's edition of this newspaper.

Littleton Chmber
Martin Lord & Osman
Varney Smith
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com