flag image

Tight selectman's race in Ossipee

Maloney wins by four votes

March 10, 2010
OSSIPEE — It was a close race for the town's only contested race for one three year selectman's seat, but incumbent chair Kathleen Maloney earned four more votes than challenger Rick Morgan. Maloney received 254 votes for select board to Morgan's 250 votes.

Contacted Wednesday morning, Morgan said it was unlikely that he'd request a recount in part because the voting machines are reliable and acknowledged that recounts cost money. He said he congratulated Maloney for a clean campaign, adding that with two votes either way, they could have tied the race. Morgan does have until Friday to made a final call for a recount. He said he has plenty to keep him busy, including a job as a contractor and as a volunteer board member for Ossipee Concerned Citizens.

On Tuesday night, Maloney also complimented Morgan on a clean campaign. Maloney will rejoin incumbent select board members Harry Merrow and Morton Leavitt for her three year term.

All other races in town were uncontested: Moderator Katy Meserve received 443 votes; Town Clerk/Tax Collector Kellie Skehan earned 480 votes; Trustee of the Trust funds Pamela Sullivan earned 416 votes; Library Trustee Susan Day earned 431 votes; Library Trustee Rachel Ward earned 458 seats; Cemetery Trustee Stephen Capone earned 417 votes; Budget Committee member "Ski" Swiatkowski earned 283 votes with Alice Jane ter Kuile earning 330 votes for a second uncontested seat. Supervisor of the Checklist Janice Tully earned 430 votes; Planning Board members Roger ter Kuile earned 307 votes and Condict "Connie" Billings earned 339 votes. Kwiatkowski also earned 352 votes in an uncontested seat on the planning board. Water/Sewer Commissioner June Loud earned 449 votes. No one wrote in for an uncontested, empty zoning board of adjustment seat.

All three planning board zoning ordinance articles passed, with voters approving an article to allow small wind energy systems (windmills) in appropriate locations, by a vote of 388 to 77; an article making changes to bring floodplain regulations in compliance with national flood insurance program passed by a 359 to 103 vote; and an article eliminating the need for a building permit for projects under $2,500 in value also passed, increasing that amount from $1,000.

Town meeting was last night (Wednesday, March 10) in Ossipee. See next week's edition for results.

Martin Lord & Osman
Littleton Chmber
Varney Smith
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com