flag image

Bickford, March win selectmen's races in New Durham

Business District adopted

March 09, 2010
NEW DURHAM — Voters in New Durham sided with experience during Tuesday's election, returning Dave Bickford to his seat on the board of selectmen, where he will be joined by Fred March.

With 714 registered voters casting ballots (26 of them for the first time) out of a total of 2,005, Bickford won out over challenger Mary McHale for a three-year selectman's seat by margin of nearly 100 votes, 395-299.

March also enjoyed a comfortable margin of victory, winning a one-year term on the board with 362 votes while Peter Rhoades garnered 290 votes and Bob Kroepel tallied 36.

In the only other contested race on this year's ballot, for a three-year term on the planning board, Scott Drummey edged out opponent Jeffrey Kratovil by a margin of 383-217.

Cecile Chase garnered 606 votes in an uncontested race for a two-year term as town moderator, while Carole Ingham was returned to her position as Town Clerk for another three years with 656 votes.

Anne Phipps (with 526 votes) and Richard McCormack (with 419) were elected to a pair of three-year terms on the board of library trustees, while Michele Kendrick was returned to the board of cemetery trustees with 583 votes.

Lois Parker was elected to a three-year term as a trustee of the trust funds with 590 votes, and, in the final race on the ballot, Patricia Grant was elected to a six-year term as a supervisor of the checklist with 581 votes.

Ballot questions

After deadlocking last year on an amendment to the town's zoning ordinance aimed at establishing a Town Center Mixed Use Business District, voters agreed with the revised version presented this year, adopting the amendment (which appeared on the ballot as Amendment 1) by a margin of 438-238.

Amendment 2, a proposal aimed at making it more feasible to build workforce housing in New Durham, also passed, 383-289, as did Amendment 3 (the proposed adoption of a new stormwater management ordinance, which garnered 463 votes in favor and 211 against) and Amendment 4 (a revision to the shorefront protection ordinance adding "Recreational Trailers" to the definition of "Recreational Vehicles" as a prohibited use in the Shorefront District, which garnered 386 votes in favor, and 277 against).

Brendan Berube can be reached at 569-3126 or bberube@salmonpress.com

Littleton Chmber
Varney Smith
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com