flag image

Awards ceremony wraps up PMHS fall season

GREG TINKHAM accepts his Booster Club Scholar Athlete Award from Kathy Bourdeau, as athletic director Corey Roux looks on. Joshua Spaulding. (click for larger version)
November 17, 2009
ALTON — With the final goal scored, the final serve made, the final putt completed and the final run over, athletes, parents, coaches and fans at Prospect Mountain had nothing left to do but honor the accomplishments.

The annual fall sports awards at Prospect Mountain High School took place on Thursday, Nov. 12, with a large number of student-athletes earning recognition for their work on the fields and in the classroom during the recently-completed season.

After thanking the athletes for their stellar work during the previous few months, athletic director Corey Roux offered his thanks to the fall coaches for their work and the parents and fans for making the school a great role model.

Roux then recapped each of the team's seasons and asked the athletes and coaches to stand and be recognized.

First-year coach Paul Hitchings led his team through a season of constant improvement despite a difficult schedule, with the kids showing professionalism and sportsmanship the entire time. Zack LeRoy capped the season by finishing 18th in the first round of the individual Class M-S tournament.

The boys' cross country team turned in second place finishes at Winnisquam and in the team's home meet. The boys also made great strides as a team and showed that the great work ethic could pay off. The girls' team won two meets for the first time in school history and was seventh at the Class M-S Meet, with Courtney Bennett finishing 19th and earning a chance to run in the elite Meet of Champions. The team was coached by John Tuttle.

The JV volleyball team, under the direction of first-year coach Karen Pierson, improved tremendously throughout the season and had fun doing it. The girls capped off an 11-5 season by getting to the semifinals of the Moultonborough volleyball tournament.

The varsity volleyball team, coached by Kerry Fitzpatrick, finished as the ninth seed in Class M and advanced to the quarterfinals, where the Timber Wolves fell to the eventual champions, the Farmington Tigers. Senior Kelsey Hopper set the new career kills record with 708. She was presented with a plaque and a new ball, which will be on display in the school's trophy case. Hopper and Keeli Millard were also selected to play in the Senior All-Star Game.

The JV girls' soccer team, with coach Melissa Hardy at the helm, showed great potential with a young group of players and gave Timber Wolf girls' soccer fans a sign of a bright future ahead.

The varsity girls' soccer team was 13-4-1, finished as the fourth seed in Class M and advanced to the semifinals, losing to eventual champion Fall Mountain. The girls also displayed teamwork and sportsmanship under the direction of second-year coach Matt Locke.

The JV boys' soccer team was a young team, but through hard work and dedication improved throughout the season while facing numerous challenges along the way. The team was coached by Roy Poslusny.

The varsity boys' soccer team finished second in Class M, playing to a 15-4 record. The boys reached the semifinals for the third time in four years, falling to eventual champion Hopkinton. Under veteran coach Gary "Bubba" Noyes, the team displayed sportsmanship and professionalism throughout the campaign.

Roux then brought principal Jay Fitzpatrick to the stage to help pass out the New Hampshire Interscholastic Athletic Association Sportsmanship Awards, which are given to two members on each team who demonstrate outstanding sportsmanship throughout the season.

For the golf team, Mike LeRoy and Zach Whissel were the winners, while Adam Cheney and Ben McGinnis were the winners for the boys' cross country team. Rebecca Wright and Emelie Morton were the girls' cross country team winners. Rebecca Tinkham and Elaine Anderson were the winners from the JV girls' soccer team. Kyle Roberts and Dylan Parker were the boys' JV soccer winners, and Ryan Soucie and Jake Rochette were the varsity boys' soccer winners. Kristine Adams and Xyelle Lewis were the winners from the JV volleyball team, with Sarah Adams and Stephanie Burke named the winners from the varsity volleyball team. Erica Clemons and Kim Sykes were the varsity girls' soccer winners.

Next up on the docket was the Booster Club Scholar Athlete Awards, which were presented by Kathy Conway-Frangione and Kathy Bourdeau of the Timber Wolves Booster Club.

The winners from the varsity volleyball team were Stephanie Burke, Lindsay Daniels, Melissa Fortin, Kelsey Hopper, Sydney Robertson and Kayla Wyatt.

The winners from the JV volleyball team were Kristine Adams, Emily Barrett, Courtney Bennett (who was also on the cross country team), Karalee Jannini, Anna Jortikka, Stephanie Lavoie, Xyelle Lewis, Nicole Ouellette and Julie Parker.

For the varsity girls' soccer team, the winners were Kirby Beranger, Monica Buffum, Ashley Dellapiana, Rebecca Krivitsky and Danielle Tidd.

The winners for the JV girls' soccer team were Elaine Anderson, Dagny Brown, Renae Brunelle, Madison Clapp, Staci Fournier, Samantha Heath, Samantha Holton, Emily Kallgren, Martha Rasbridge, Sarah Simoneau and Rebecca Tinkham.

The lone cross country winner was Zack Bungert.

The golf team winners were Matt Apkarian, Brad Bugieda, Tyler Finethy, Matt McGinnis and Brad Olmsted.

For the varsity boys' soccer team, the winners were Nick Bachelder, Jesse Brown, Ben Couch, Anthony Frangione, Spencer Goossens, Jason Houghton, Adam Lavoie, Austin Perrin, Greg Tinkham and team manager Michelle Lizotte.

For the JV boys' soccer team, the winners were Andrew Hederman, Anthony Macaione, Timothy O'Gara, Shabir Shaikh and Matthew Wajda.

Following a slide show featuring videos and pictures from the fall sports season, the athletes split with their respective teams for individual team awards.

Team awards

For the varsity boys' soccer team, Greg Tinkham and Anthony Fragione earned the Outstanding Contributor Award, while Jesse Brown and Zack Drouin were named Most Improved Players. Brian Jones and Tony Ungarelli won the Coach's Award.

For the JV boys' soccer team, Eric Sandin was named team MVP, with Josh Dudzik and Peter Benenate each earning the Coach's Award.

For the girls' varsity soccer team, Josie Couch and Sahara Brown each earned MVP honors, while Kelsey Meyerhoff earned the Most Improved Player award. Sarah Carpenter earned the Outstanding Contributor award.

For the JV girls' soccer team, Dagny Brown was named Most Improved Player, while Samantha Heath and Monica Buffum each earned the Coach's Award.

For the varsity volleyball team, Kelsey Hopper was named the MVP, while Danielle Beckett earned the Most Improved Player honor. Keeli Millard won the Coach's Award.

For the JV volleyball team, Emily Barrett won the MVP, with Courtney Bennett winning the Most Improved Player award. Stephanie Pryor won the Coach's Award.

Zach LeRoy won the MVP for the golf team, while Jay Mousseau won the Most Improved Player award. Matt Apkarian took home the Coach's Award.

For the boys' cross country team, Ben Iannotti was named MVP. Adam Cheney earned the Most Improved Player award and Ben McGinnis was presented with the Coach's Award.

For the girls' cross country team, Courtney Bennett was named the MVP and Cristina Varney won the Most Improved Player award. Alex Zaino won the Coach's Award.

Martin Lord & Osman
Salmon Press
Town of Alexandria
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com