flag image

Kingswood holds Scholarship Awards Night

TOWN OF TUFTONBORO and Leon F. Shepherd Scholarships were presented by Trustee Sue Weeks during the Kingswood Scholarship Convocation last Thursday evening, June 5. Pictured here are recipients (l-r) Casey Sargent, Randi Talbot, Shawn Roseen, Weeks, Andrew Hewitt, and Spencer Fusco. See more scholarship award photos on page A6. (Elissa Paquette photo) (click for larger version)
June 12, 2014
WOLFEBORO — Scholarship Awards Night is the culmination of the fundraising efforts of organizations within the school district throughout the year on behalf of the youth of their communities and the successful efforts of students to excel academically and contribute to the life of their school.

The scholarships vary in size but not in the heartfelt intentions of those who give their time and energy to support the youth of the community; clubs, civic organizations, teachers, current and retired, and businesses. Overall, around $250,000 is meted out at the end of the year.

Steve Guyer, Principal of the Lakes Region Technology Center, speaking as the Master of Ceremony for the evening convocation last Thursday, June 5, said the memorial scholarships (often given by family members) are especially heartwarming.

The Kingswood Guidance Department, under the leadership of Lara Crane, organizes and presents information online via Naviance, a software program specific to helping students record their activities and achievements electronically from the time they enter the school as freshmen and alerts them to the scholarships they might apply to. The criteria are all there, but there also has to be the determination to sit down, write essays, and prepare to answer interviewers' questions.

Photographs of recipients of awards from The Rotary Club of Wolfeboro, the Wolfeboro Lions Club, The Wolfeboro Police Benevolent Association and trusts overseen by the towns of Tuftonboro and Wolfeboro may be seen throughout the paper. David Moore, Tiffany Nason and Emily Rumery received Wolfeboro Area Chamber of Commerce Scholarships.

Trisha Masterson received the Allen Stevens Memorial Scholarship and the Governor Wentworth Retired Education Associators Hospitality Scholarship in addition to those highlighted elsewhere.

Shawn Roseen, in addition to those featured elsewhere, received awards from the Fr. George Ham Memorial Scholarship fund, Governor Wentworth Education Association (GWEA), Governor Wentworth Retired Educators Association, Moultonborough Lions Club, Red Sox Foundation, and the Tuftonboro Central School PTCO.

Abraham DeMaio received the: Mason Good Sportsmanship Award along with Rachel Lapar, the New Durham Scholarship/Abraham Burtman Trust, the KRHS Student Council Scholarship; and the Greater Manchester Black Scholarship.

Allison Campbell was honored with the Barbara Hunter Memorial Scholarship, GWEA award, and the Henry F. Hurlburt Academic Scholarship.

James Copithorne received an award from the Lakes Regional Board of REALTORS and the Latchkey Scholarship Award.

Maverick Eldridge and Tiffany Nason won the Cpl. Matthew Stanley Scholarship. Eldridge also received the Dekalb Award and Scholarship and Wolfeboro Garden Club Scholarship along with Olivia Alden and Abbigail Bolduc. Nason also earned the George T. Davidson and Warren & Sylvia Witherell Scholarships.

Culinary Arts Scholarship funds, raised by culinary students from extra-curricular activities, tips, fundraiser functions, bake sales in addition to donations, went to

Marissa Amico, Owen Bierweiler, James Ellis, Alesia Felix, Trisha Masterson,

Marina McGoon, and Cory York .

Also coming in for a share of awards was Richard Burnham: Meredith Village Savings Bank chose to honor him, as did the GWEA. He also received the James D. Sutherland Memorial Scholarship, the KRHS Faculty and Staff Scholarship along with Aurelia Blackstock, and the Jody Stevens Memorial Award from Genesis/ Wolfeboro Bay Rehabilitation.

Danielle Fitzpatrick received a Genesis Scholarship and Sean Stackhouse and Danielle Fitzpatrick accepted the Henry F. Hurlburt Technology Scholarships. Stackhouse also stepped up to receive the LRTC Multi Media Scholarship and the Wolfeboro Area Democrats Citizenship Award.

Dhruv Patel accepted the Carl Contois Scholarship along with Elizabeth Gillikin and also received the DECA Coca Cola Scholarships. Gillikin also received the Wolfeboro Children's Center Scholarship.

Casey Sargent, in addition to awards highlighted elsewhere received the DAR, KRHS Faculty and Staff and Morning Star Lodge #17 Wolfeboro Masonic Temple awards.

Praised highly by Scott Geissler, Dakota Waddington and Victoria Cote won the Kingswood Theater Department Scholarships. Waddington also received the LRTC Collision Technology Scholarship.

Rory Coughlin and Elizabeth Nelson received Henry F. Hurlburt Academic Scholarships.

The Town of Brookfield gave its Scholastic Recognition Award to Gabrielle Niconchuk.

Ryan Hamilton was the recipient of the Lake Shore Grange #128 Scholarship, and

Olivia Alden received the LRTC Agricultural Science Scholarship.

The Levergood Scholarship went to Christine Chrysafidis and John Andrew Hewitt. Chrysafidis was also awarded the Stephen Guyer Career & Technical Education Scholarship.

Michael Novotny received the Elwin Stillings Scholarship.

The Mountain View Nursing Home Scholarship was presented to Sierra Weir, who also received Sierra Weir Trooper Gary Parker Memorial Award, and Jill Young was honored with the Huggins Hospital Scholarship.

To complete the list on students and their awards received on June 5: Randi Talbot, the Village Players Scholarship; Zoe Reed, Moultonborough Lions Club Scholarship; Lily Greene, Lake Wentworth Association Student Assistance Fund; Jostyn Correa, Fr. George Ham Memorial Scholarship; Alya Farley, George T. Davidson Scholarship; Michael Bush, Hospitality Scholarship; Zach Ivey, LRTC Computer Networking Scholarship; Corey Lobdell, Russell E. Clough Memorial Vocational Scholarship; and Conner Diamond, Warren & Sylvia Witherell Scholarship.

PArkerVillager Internal Page
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com