flag image

The river wild

Paddlers tackle the Smith River for the 40th year

by Joshua Spaulding
Sports Editor - Granite State News, Carroll County Independent, Meredith News, Gilford Steamer, Winnisquam Echo, Plymouth Record-Enterprise and Baysider

JACK MCNAMARA (back) and Anthony Borelli had a little spill during Saturday's Smith River Canoe and Kayak Race. Joshua Spaulding. (click for larger version)
May 20, 2014
WOLFEBORO — For the 40th consecutive year, paddlers boarded their vessels in Lake Wentworth for the Great Smith River Canoe and Kayak Race.

And for the 39th year, they made their way through the waters of the Smith River to the town docks on Wolfeboro Bay.

And it was a familiar face at the front of the field on Saturday, as Howie Bean of Wolfeboro, this year teaming with Darlene Fitzpatrick, also of Wolfeboro, finished with the fastest time, finishing in 28:27.

The fastest overall kayak time of the day was recorded by New Durham's Brad Helfer, who finished in 31:11.

The top three finishers in each of the 19 categories were presented with special awards for their accomplishments. For this year, the awards were small wooden paddles engraved with the canoe race logo.

There were five racing classes competing on Saturday.

In the Two Women Class, Priscilla Reinersten of Contoocook and Lorrie Drake of New Durham finished in 31:45, the fastest women's time of the day. Emily Richey of Ossipee and Erica Batstone of Wolfeboro finished second in 45:39.

In the Long Whitewater Class, Don Kretchmer of Wolfeboro and Dave Neils of Brentwood took first in 29:17, with Dave Lamoureaux of Newburyport, Mass. and Steve Nyman of Amesbury, Mass took second in 33:14.

In the Mixed Class, it was Bean and Fitzpatrick taking the top honor, with Garrett Conley of Wolfeboro and Liz Lamare of Dartmouth, Mass. in second place in 38:21.

In the Family Class, Dan and Adam Richardson of Wolfeboro were first in 33:00, followed by Olivia and Nathan Reil of Guilford, Vt. in 36:30.

In the Singles Class, Brian Battista of Parsonsfield, Maine was first in 34:40, with John Reil of North Grafton, Mass. in second in 42:18.

The remainder of the paddlers raced in the conventional classes.

In the Two Men Class, Derek Smith of Dover and Ben Bancroft of Rye were first in 29:10, the second fastest time of the day. Andy Ouellet of Salisbury, Mass. and Dan O'Reilly of Kittery, Maine took second in 32:13 and Justin Marbury and Cris Seeley of Wolfeboro were third in 33:37.

In the Mixed Class, Ken Norton and Lauren Noether of Tilton placed first in 34:22, with Grigory Petrov and Kaitrin Davis of Wolfeboro in second in 36:41 and Charles Gaudet of Wolfeboro and Jennifer Griffin of Westwood, Mass. in third in 38:03.

In the Family Class, David and Zach Barker of Sunderland, Mass. were first in 38:29, with Erin Balcom of Milford and Sarah Barrer of Somersworth in second in 44:04 and Andrew and Roberto Jay of Boston, Mass. were third in 64:51.

For the Boys Class, Brett Conley and Richard Curran of Wolfeboro were first in 37:00, with Jack McNamara and Anthony Borelli of Tuftonboro in second in 44:49 and Samuel Marsh of Brookfield and David Mansfield of Wolfeboro in third in 47:28.

For the Two Women Class, Lauren Lantague of Litchfield and Kelsey Rose of Derry were first in 32;11, followed by Kayla Barbas of Manchester and Megan Cook of Hudson in second in 32:33 and Ruth Hebert of Manchester and Kelly Towsley of New Boston in 34:22.

In the Kayak Female Class, Stephanie Patton of North Easton, Mass. was first in 40:51, with Lori Kirwan of Wolfeboro in second in 43:00 and Suzanne Copenhaver of Wolfeboro in third in 45:18.

For the Two Person Kayak Class, Steven and Kelly Andersen of Rochester were first in 34:46, with Maggie and Steve Kirwan of Wolfeboro in second in 35:54 and Peter and Jonathan Galanis of Wolfeboro in third in 35:58.

For the Kayak Male Class, Helfer's time was first, with Rick Smith of Newmarket second in 31:38 and Jon Patton of North Easton, Mass. in third in 32:00.

In the Business Class, Jo Terragnie of Wilmington, Mass. and Geoff Terragni of Wolfeboro were first in 37:44, followed by Andre and Joshua deBeer of Wolfeboro in 45:26 and Colton LaPointe and Daniel deBeer in third in 45:49.

For the Old Timers Class, Bruce Foust of Richmond, Vt. and Chris Burnett of Tuftonboro were first in 39:14, with Pittsfield's Lannie Wood and Alton's Mark Therrien in second in 41:30 and Dave and Deb Denby of Wolfeboro in third in 42:05.

At the conclusion of the race, Race Director Roger Murray presented the Barry Lougee Award to the racers from 1975 to 2014. The Barry Lougee Award is presented annually to the person whose consistent and selfless support of the Smith River Canoe and Kayak Race has exemplified the spirit of Barry Lougee, one of the founders of the race. Murray thanked all those who had participated in the race over the course of the 40 years and noted that all of the racers had exemplified Lougee's spirit.

The Wolfeboro Lions Club, which sponsors the race, also held a raffle in conjunction with the race and Lisa Beveridge was the grand prize winner.

Joshua Spaulding can be reached at 569-3126 or sportsgsn@salmonpress.com

PArkerVillager Internal Page
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com