flag image

2 Democrats seek Dist. 5 state rep. nomination, 5 in GOP Dist. 1 primary

June 25, 2014
COOS COUNTY — The filing period for the Sept. 9 primary has closed, including the opportunity for Party committees to fill out their slates, and there are only two contests in local races.

Although at first it appeared as though no one had filed for the District 6 House seat that represents Gorham and Shelburne, incumbent Rep. William "Bill" Hatch, a Democrat of Gorham, explained in a Monday morning phone call that there was a mix-up, likely at Gorham Town Hall, and that he had filed in a timely manner. Hatch said that he had confirmed this with the Secretary of State's Office in Concord.

There is a contest in the Sept. 9 Democratic primary for state representative in District 5, which includes Whitefield, Carroll, Jefferson, and Randolph. First-term incumbent state Rep. Marcia Hammon, a Democrat of Whitefield, did not file for re-election, but her husband, V. Arthur "Art" Hammon, also a Democrat, did file. He and Jefferson selectman and former county Corrections Dept. Superintendent Norman Brown will face off or the Democratic nomination on Sept. 9.

Former state Rep. John Tholl Jr. of Whitefield filed in District 5 on the Republican side, so the seat will be contested in the Nov. 4 general election.

Five candidates are competing for two slots in the Republican primary in District 1, which includes Pittsburg, Colebrook and Errol: incumbent Rep. Laurence Rappaport, Dr. John Fothergill and Michael Furbush, all three of Colebrook, plus former county commissioner and selectman Burnham "Bing" Judd of Pittsburg and Charles Kurtz of Errol. First-term Rep. Larry Enman of Errol did not file for re-election.

No Democrat filed for either of these seats, however, meaning that the two top Republican vote-getters in the Sept. 9 primary will be unopposed in the Nov. 4 general election.

District 2 incumbent Rep. Wayne Moynihan of Dummer filed for re-election, but with no Republican filing for the primary, he faces no Republican opponent on Nov. 4.

District 3 incumbent Rep. Gary Coulombe, a Democrat of Berlin, did not file for re-election.

Two longtime Democratic incumbents — Rep. Robert Theberge and Yvonne Thomas, both of Berlin — did file for re-election, however.

Alethea Lincoln Froburg of Berlin, a retired attorney who headed up the Democratic headquarters in Berlin to work for President Barack Obama's reelection, filed for one of the three District 3 seats.

Eric Catman of Berlin, who heads up the Cos County Republican Party, filed as the Party's only candidate in District 3.

Incumbent Rep. Herb Richardson of Lancaster was the only Republican to file in District 4.

Troy Merner, a Democrat of Lancaster, threw his hat into the race, and the two Lancaster candidates in District 4 will face off in the Nov. 4 general election.

First-term Republican incumbent Rep. Leon Rideout of Lancaster, who represents the 10-town floterial District 7 that stretches from the Connecticut River to the Androscoggin, filed for re-election and will be unopposed on Nov. 4.

First-term state District 1 Senator Jeff Woodburn, a Democrat of Dalton, filed for re-election. He will face off against Mark Evans, a Republican of Berlin, who unsuccessfully ran against incumbent Berlin Mayor Paul Grenier, a Democrat.

Neither Republican incumbent District 1 Executive Councilor Joe Kenney of Wakefield nor Democratic candidate Mike Cryans of Hanover, one of Grafton County's three commissioners, face primary contests, so they will face off on Nov. 4 in a rematch of the March 11 special election that was held to fill out the term of the late Councilor Ray Burton.

Both incumbent County Commissioners whose terms are up — District 1 Cmr. Paul Grenier, a Democrat of Berlin, and District 3 Cmr. Rick Samson, a Republican of Stewartstown — are running unopposed in both the Sept. 9 primary and the Nov. 4 general election.

Only incumbents filed for all the other county offices.

PArkerVillager Internal Page
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com