Wakefield Heritage Day July 27 was the perfect opportunity to explore some of Wakefield's "hidden historic jewels." (Photo by Mellisa Seamans) (click for larger version)
August 01, 2019WAKEFIELD — Wakefield Heritage Day July 27 was the perfect opportunity to explore some of Wakefield's "hidden historic jewels."
Young and old enjoyed touring the Freight House with its remarkable H/O scale of the Boston & Maine Railroad making its way through the historically accurate Wakefield villages, the fully restored Union Station, a renovated water tower, and the chance to climb aboard the restored 1902 Russell Snow Plow and the 1950s-era B&M caboose. New Hampshire's Garden Railway Society was a special guest with their trains running under the tent. There was also the chance to communicate by telegraph.
The Heritage Park campus is open Saturdays and Sundays noon to 4 p.m. through Columbus Day weekend and is located at the intersection of Chapel Street, Railroad Avenue and Route 125 in Union, less than a mile from Route 16.
According to their website, www.historicwakefieldnh.com, the heritage commission was established in 1993 and has developed plans to restore areas of the community that reflect the importance of Wakefield in transportation, manufacturing, and farming.
With the generous support of volunteers, financial donors, and grants, the first building constructed in the village of Sanbornville, the Garvin Building, was restored. Upon completion, the Wakefield Heritage Commission sold the Garvin Building. It remains a focal point and tribute to the history of the community.
In recent years, the Commission, thanks to a small army of talented and generous volunteers, has restored Union Station and the Freight House in Union, the Lovell-Union Grange, and the Spinney Meeting House. The Grange, at 26 Province Lake Road, is open to the public Wednesdays and Saturdays 10 am to noon. The Spinney Meeting House, located at 1847 Lovell Lake Rd., is available to rent. The Commission also lists East Wakefield Schoolhouse, at 1892 Province Lake Road, as one of the town's historic jewels, open to the public Wednesdays and Saturdays 9 a.m. to noon.
The Commission can also be reached by email at email@example.com.