flag image

Eagles wrap up the spring sports season

by Joshua Spaulding
Sports Editor - Granite State News, Carroll County Independent, Meredith News, Gilford Steamer, Winnisquam Echo, Plymouth Record-Enterprise and Baysider

MAJOR AWARD winners at the Kennett sports awards on June 10 included (front row, l to r), Maggie LaRoche, Gigi Miller, Gracie Ryan, Talia Vaughn, Julianna Livingston and Corey Crawford (all track). Back row (l to r), Billy Chick (baseball), Erika Szekely (tennis), Kaylin Samia (softball), Vonde Saunders (softball), Shane O'Neil (baseball), Tanner Wheeler (lacrosse), Danny MacDonald (tennis), Luke Tinkham (tennis), Brian Caputo (track), Alex Brown (track) and Tyrus Parker (track). Joshua Spaulding. (click for larger version)
June 16, 2014
NORTH CONWAY — Kennett High School put a wrap on the spring sports season at the sports awards ceremony on Tuesday, June 10, in the Loynd Auditorium.

The evening kicked off with Athletic Director Kerry Brady welcoming the athletes, parents, family members, coaches and community members and extending a word of thanks.

"We got through all the snow and the weather and finally completed our schedule," she said. "Thank you all for bearing with us."

She also thanked the many volunteer coaches and other volunteers who helped make the spring sports season run smoothly.

After a video of images from the spring season, which was created by Kaylin and Rachel Samia, boys' tennis coach Chris Bailey was first on the schedule, presenting the Boys' Tennis Award.

"This award goes to the players who demonstrate sportsmanship, leadership and dedication to the team and the sport of tennis," Bailey said. He then presented the award to seniors Danny MacDonald and Luke Tinkham.

Girls' tennis coach Maxine Cadman was next on the schedule, presenting the Girls' Tennis Award. She noted the winner had played for four years and showed dedication and leadership and made major improvements in her four years and then presented the award to Erika Szekely.

Baseball coaches Brian Day and Rick West stepped to the podium next.

First up, Day presented the Jack Burns Award, which is given to the senior who showed sportsmanship, leadership and values for the game of baseball. He then presented the award to Billy Chick.

West presented the 10th Player Award, which he noted is given for dedication, effort, teamwork and positive attitude.

"He met all of those criteria the only way he knows how, head on at full speed," West said in presenting the award to Shane O'Neil.

Veteran softball coach Peter Ames was next up to award the Softball Award, which is given to players showing dedication and leadership in the sport of softball. He presented the award to seniors Kaylin Samia and Vonde Saunders.

The Lacrosse Award is given to a player who shows respect, both on and off the field, determination, selflessness and a willingness to win, "even though we didn't always win all our games," coach Jared Doherty said. He presented the award to Tanner Wheeler.

Longtime track coach Bernie Livingston had plenty of presenting to do.

First up was the Track and Field Award, which Livingston noted is given to the members of the team who both on the field and in the classroom show loyalty, citizenship and sportsmanship, both as a follower and a leader. He presented the boys' team awards to Corey Crawford and Alex Brown and the girls' team awards to Julianna Livingston and Talia Vaughn.

Livingston stayed at the podium to present the Don Trimble Award, which is given to the most valuable team members in track and field competition. The boys' team winners were Tyrus Parker and Brian Caputo and the girls' team winners were Gigi Miller, Gracie Ryan and Maggie LaRoche.

Brady wrapped up the major awards portion of the ceremony by presenting the Three Sport Athlete Awards, which are given to kids who participated in three sports each of their four years.

The winners were Christian Rivers, Luke Tinkham, Danny MacDonald, Tim Avery, David Mays, Ryan Kenny, Andrew Casella, Alex Brown, Kasey Connifey, Rachel Samia, Kaylin Samia, Gillian Wilcox, Gigi Miller, Eliza Burke and Gracie Ryan.

Brady also offered up a thanks to athletic trainer Andy Trowbridge.

"He's been here for every single home sporting event and many hours of practice, all for the benefit of our student-athletes," Brady said.

Before the teams split to go to their respective team awards, Doherty asked the crowd to acknowledge Brady for her hard work in navigating the spring sports season's many weather concerns.

Joshua Spaulding can be reached at 569-3126 or sportsgsn@salmonpress.com

PArkerVillager Internal Page
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com