flag image

Kennett celebrates another successful season

Eagles bring home three championships

by Joshua Spaulding
Sports Editor - Granite State News, Carroll County Independent, Meredith News, Gilford Steamer, Winnisquam Echo, Plymouth Record-Enterprise and Baysider

THE MAJOR award winners at Kennett High School's winter sports award ceremony included, front row (l to r), Tyrus Parker (track), Destiny Allard (spirit), Rachel Samia (basketball), Kaylin Samia (basketball), Nokomis Lucy (unified basketball) and Gigi Miller (track). Back row (l to r), Luke Tinkham (alpine skiing), Brandon DiLucchio (basketball), Ryan Vajentic (basketball), Domenic Lentini (unified basketball), Thomas Loynd (basketball), Brad Canavari (hockey), Liam Devine (ski jumping) and Donovan Spaulding (Nordic skiing). Missing from the photo are alpine award winners Kasey Connifey, Grant Meserve and Jake Remick. Joshua Spaulding. (click for larger version)
March 31, 2014
NORTH CONWAY — While the spring sports season had officially begun a day earlier, Kennett High School celebrated another successful winter sports season on Tuesday, March 25.

The evening began in the Loynd Auditorium, where those in attendance watched a video of images from the winter sports season compiled by senior Kaylin Samia.

"Thank you for coming out and supporting our athletes," Athletic Director Kerry Brady told the audience. "Our community really gets behind them and supports them."

First to the podium among the Eagle coaches was boys' hoop coach Steve Coté, who presented the Karl Seiedenstuecker Award.

After congratulating the winter athletes on another successful season, Coté talked about his team.

"Basketball is first and foremost a team sport, but there were some student-athletes who received individual recognition," Coté said, before congratulating Brandon DiLucchio on the NHBCO All-State and NH Sports Page All-State Second Team and Ryan Vajentic for making the NH Sports Page Third Team.

The Seidenstuecker Award goes to athletes who exemplify traits appreciated by the longtime legendary Eagle coach, including coachability, all-around play, leadership, sportsmanship and consistently representing the team and Kennett in a good manner.

Coté then presented the award to captains DiLucchio, Vajentic and Thomas Loynd.

Ski coach Laurel Zengilowski was up next to present the ski team awards.

She praised the members of the team for buying into the team concept, which has allowed the squad to continue its success year in and year out. This year, the Eagle skiers earned three championships, as the boys and girls won alpine titles and the boys won the Nordic title.

She presented the Broomhall Nordic Award to Donovan Spaulding, the Ski Jumping Award to Liam Devine and the Alpine Award to Kasey Connifey, Jake Remick, Grant Meserve and Luke Tinkham.

Hockey coach Mike Lane was next on the schedule and began by congratulating all the winter sports athletes and teams on the successes.

The hockey award is named after coach Jim Terry.

"He started coaching back when our home rink was Schouler Park," Lane said. "Coach Terry had a dream and as Kennett hockey celebrates its 15th year, I'm pleased he could be here tonight."

Terry then joined Lane at the podium to present the Jim Terry Award to a leader, a good teammate and overall good person, senior captain Brad Canavari.

Spirit team Jenn McGinley, in her first year at the helm of the team, noted her squad got off to a slow start, but they ended on a strong note and she was pleased with the work the kids put in every day.

"They have a lot to be proud of," she said.

The award was given to a team member who showed up every day, gave 110 percent and exemplified what it means to be a cheerleader, Destiny Allard.

Bernie Livingston was up next to present the indoor track awards, which are given to athletes who on the field and in the school best exemplify the traits of loyalty to Kennett, citizenship and sportsmanship, as a follower and a leader.

The boys' team award went to Tyrus Parker and the girls' team award went to Gigi Miller.

Next up was girls' basketball coach Larry Meader for the Russ Award, which was named after longtime Kennett coach Bob Russell.

Meader began by praising all the winter sports teams and athletes.

"There's no doubt that when it comes to winter sports, there is no doubt Kennett is a force to be reckoned with," Meader said.

He then congratulated Juliauna Dunlop on being named All-State Honorable Mention, while Kaylin Samia was named the NHBCO Jack Ford Award winner, for her work on the court and in the classroom.

The Russ Award is given to players who show, among other things, pride, determination, leadership and enthusiasm for the sport of basketball. He then presented the award to senior twin sisters Kaylin and Rachel Samia.

The final presenter for the major awards was unified hoop coach Courtney Turchan.

"If you made it to a unified basketball game, you know and understand it is truly something special," Turchan said. "It's an honor and treat to work with these students."

She had two awards to present, one to an athlete and one to a partner. For the partner, the award was given to someone who was dedicated and committed to the team and made some strong connections with the athletes.

She then presented the award to Dominic Lentini.

For the athlete, the award was given to someone who came a long way with her athletic ability and overcame her shyness in a big way. She also made the first basket of her career this season.

She then presented the award to Nokomis Lucy.

"I couldn't be more proud of you," Turchan said to Lucy.

Joshua Spaulding can be reached at 569-3126 or sportsgsn@salmonpress.com

PArkerVillager Internal Page
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com