flag image
Joyce Endee

Balderrama named Division III All-State Honorable Mention

Joshua Spaulding image
by Joshua Spaulding
write the author

Sports Editor - Salmon Press Newspapers

Makenna Balderrama of Berlin wrapped up her senior season by being named Division III All-State Honorable Mention. (Photo by RC Greenwood) (click for larger version)
April 01, 2021
REGION — Local girls' basketball players were among those honored when the New Hampshire Basketball Coaches Organization released its list of All-State teams following the conclusion of the 2020-2021 hoop season.

Paulina Huckins of Newfound was named to the Division III First Team, where she was joined by Player of the Year Elizabeth Gonyea of Conant, Avery Stewart and Sophie Bardis of Fall Mountain, Emma Tenters of Conant and Tori Allen of Campbell.

Newfound's Malina Bohlmann and Prospect Mountain's Hannah Capsalis both earned Second Team honors. Also earning Second Team were Caroline Camp of Kearsarge, Maurgan McGrath of Hopkinton, Brynn Rautiola of Conant and Karleigh Schultz of Campbell.

Honorable Mention for Division III went to Morgan Hall of Belmont, Allison Carr and Lindsey Sanderson of Gilford, Makenna Balderrama of Berlin, Lily Kenison of White Mountains, Bailey Fairbank of Newfound and Molly Moynihan of Inter-Lakes. Also earning Honorable Mention were Grace LeClair and Mea Carroll-Clough of Monadnock, Makenna Grillone of Fall Mountain, Kathryn LaCasse of Raymond, Kally Murdough of Hopkinton, Riley Gamache of Campbell, Teagan Kirby of Conant and Rayna Tucker of Kearsarge.

Division III All-Defensive Team honors went to Gilford's Sanderson, Conant's Rautiola, Murdough of Hopkinton, Raymond's Lacasse and Schultz of Campbell.

Raymond's Lacasse earned the Jack Ford Award while Brian Troy of Conant was named the Varsity Coach of the Year.

Prospect Mountain JV Coach Ernie Tiede was named Division III Sub-Varsity Coach of the Year.

In Division II, Kennett's Maddie Stewart earned First Team honors, where she was joined by Player of the Year Ami Rivera of Bishop Brady, Stella Galanes and Melissa Whitmore of Hanover, Elisabeth Stapelfeld of Hollis-Brookline and Sally Rainey of Lebanon.

Stewart also earned Division II All-Defensive Team, where she was joined by Rainey, Charlotte Johnson of Hanover, Hayley Kenney of Merrimack Valley and Lindsey Laperle of Bow.

Jordan Levesque of Plymouth earned Second Team honors to close out her Bobcat career. Also joining her on the Second Team were Madison Houghton of Sanborn, Isabella Daly of Laconia, Alex Larrabee of Bow, Tallie Carney of Pelham and Ashley Stephens of Pembroke.

Honorable Mention for Division II went to Halle Laramie, Libbey Hicks and Isabella Rivera of Bishop Brady, Valentina White and Jennifer Bettencourt of Coe-Brown, Catherine Cole of Lebanon, Abuk Teng of West, Jasmine Becotte of Pelham, Ellen McGough of Sanborn, Macy Gordon of Merrimack Valley, Lindsey Laperle of Bow, Carissa Miller of Oyster River, Brady Johnson of John Stark, Kate Canavan of Souhegan, Sarah Dobbs of Milford and Maddy Faber of Con-Val.

Maddie Houghton of Sanborn was named the Jack Ford Award winner while Dan O'Rourke of Hanover was named Varsity Coach of the Year and Mike Mahoney of Merrimack Valley was named Sub-Varsity Coach of the Year.

Woodsville seniors Olivia Sarkis and Emily Prest were both named Division IV First Team All-State, where they were joined by Player of the Year Sage Smith and Samantha Howe, both of Colebrook, Angelina Nardolillo of Hinsdale and Emmy Plage of Derryfield.

Division IV Second Team went to Emmalee Deblois of Groveton and Megan Swedberg of Moultonborough, along with Brianna Fillion of Newmarket, Delaney Wilcox of Hinsdale and Chloe Weeks and Jaclyn Peaslee of Farmington.

Littleton's Olivia Corrigan, Hannah Brown and Lauren McKee, Woodsville's Graci Kaiser and Morgan Wagstaff, Groveton's Nodia Davenport, Lin-Wood's Alyvia Drapeau and Lisbon's Sara Brown all earned Honorable Mention, along with Shawna Lesmerises of Derryfield, Maddie Trainor of Portsmouth Christian, Abby Pollari of Sunapee, Abigail Henry of Newmarket, Jenna Needam of Epping, Olivia Wattendorf of Franklin and Rosie Treece of Mount Royal.

Sarkis also earned Division IV All-Defensive Team along with Derryfield's Plage, Newmarket's Fillion, Hinsdale's Nardolillo and Colebrook's Smith.

Moultonborough's Swedberg was named the Jack Ford Award winner for Division IV.

First-year Woodsville head coach Steve Colby was named Division IV Coach of the Year.

Sports Editor Joshua Spaulding can be reached at 279-4516, ext. 155 or josh@salmonpress.news.

Martin Lord & Osman
Salmon Press
Martin Lord Osman
Varney Smith
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com