flag image

Chamber's annual dinner sees record-breaking turnout

The Androscoggin Valley Chamber of Commerce held its annual dinner and meeting at the Town and Country Inn and Resort on Friday and there was a record turnout of 300 attendees. Two "Boompier" awards were presented. The first was to Paul and Shirley Croteau. From left to right -- Paul & Shirley Croteau, Roland Berthiaume, BFD, Carissa Caron, Androscoggin Valley Chamber Director. (Courtesy Photo) (click for larger version)
March 16, 2017
SHELBURNE — About 300 attended the annual Androscoggin Valley Chamber of Commerce dinner and meeting held at the Town and Country Inn and Resort on Friday.

"The Annual Dinner & Meeting was a record breaker this year," said Executive Director of the Chamber, Paula Kinney. "Great way to kick off our 2017 event season."

The Chamber's long-time member and President, Mark Belanger, gave a year in review and spoke of the successes throughout the year that the Chamber was a part of including signature events such as the ATV Fest, RiverFire and Polaris Camp RZR. He recognized the countless hours of volunteerism and not-for-profit organizations that accomplished admirable achievements.

It was announced that Belanger was stepping down as President – a position that he has held for the last three years. Prior to that, he was an officer for seven years holding positions such as Secretary and Treasurer. He will remain on the Board of Directors.

"Mark was a driving force for this Chamber's accomplishments," said Kinney.

He was thanked for all of his hard work.

Three awards were given out to local organizations.

The first award was the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award for contributions to the community, longevity in good times and bad and for business investment. This award was presented to Mark and Berry Kelley, owners of White Mountain Lumber.

Two Boompier Awards were also presented. These awards were created to recognize individuals or organizations who met "a high standard for their volunteer efforts that are consistent with the focus and mission of the Chamber" according to an email from the Chamber.

"These individuals make our area a better place to live, work and play," the email stated.

The first award was given to Paul and Shirley Croteau "for their long list of volunteerism."

The second award was given to the Notre Dame Arena Board of Directors "for their dedication in preserving our heritage and bringing hockey back to "Hockey Town USA" with the Berlin River Drivers hockey team – and much more."

"It is obvious, the Notre Dame Arena's Board of Directors are a dedicated group with a plan to keep their mission alive," said Chamber Director Joanne Roy.

"The directors are your neighbors, your co-workers, your friends, and your relatives -- and as a community looking on, it's easy to forget the hard work that goes on behind the scene, but tonight is their time to be appreciated," said Roy.

The following people were elected and appointed positions in the Chamber: Lucinda Bragg, Northway Bank as President; Bronson Frizzell, Granite Bank, as Vice President; Lori Morin, Town and Country, as Secretary and Nancy Lacasse, Service Credit Union, as Treasurer.

The Chamber also recognized its sponsors as follows: Title sponsor, Northeast Credit Union; major sponsors Bank of New Hampshire; Burgess BioPower, Caron Building Center; Capone Iron; Eversource; Northway Bank and Service Credit Union. Corporate sponsor Counture Construction; associate sponsors Badger Realty; HEB Engineers and Marshal Insurance Agency; Appetizer sponsors Androscoggin Valley Hospital; Great North Woods Container and Town and Country Inn and Resort.


PArkerVillager Internal Page
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com