flag image

Mayor Paul Grenier & whole City Council keep status quo

November 13, 2013
BERLIN — There were no surprises on Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 5, that only pulled 26 percent of the registered voters to the City's four polling places.

Incumbent Mayor Paul Grenier won in a landslide with 971 votes — 78 percent of the total tally of 1,244 votes. His opponent Mark Evans, a former City Council member who serves on the Planning Board, had only 273 votes cast for him. Evans' best margin was in Precinct 2, but even there, Grenier garnered 234 votes and Evans only 91.

Status quo challenger Lynn Lipari, who sought a two-year City Council seat, only had 378 votes cast for her in her first race, but that still was 105 more than Evans who had put out campaign signs around the City.

Incumbent City Council member Roland Theberge was top vote-getter — 959 votes — among those seeking two-year terms. Denise Morgan Allain won her two-year seat with 886 votes, Paula Benski, 681, and Peter Higbee, 664.

The four City Council incumbents seeking four-year seats swept to victory without opposition. Diana Nelson was top vote-getter with 978 votes. Lucie Remillard garnered 971 votes, Michael Rozek, 959, and Russell Otis, 870.

"I am very honored to be re-elected again to represent the people of Berlin," Grenier said in an e-mail exchange. "The margin of victory shows that the present City Council has chartered the right course for Berlin's future. I also could not be more proud to be able to serve for another two years with folks who I think make up one of the best group of people I have ever served with at any level. Berlin is on the right track: our tax structure is stable, and we're dealing with the many issues that we face on a united front. It is an exciting yet challenging time for the City of Berlin, and I'm certainly up to it."

Evans said he was disappointed in the turnout, but was very philosophical about his loss. Very likely he will run again, he said, and if he does will try to do some door-to-door campaigning.

Nicole Plourde, running unopposed for School Board, won a four-year term with 1,092 votes.

Denise Valerino was the top vote-getter, with 932 votes, among the trio who ran unopposed for two-year School Board terms. Donald Labrecque garnered 915 votes, and Lynn Moore 826.


Yvonne Thomas won a four-year seat as Library Trustee, with 1106 votes, and Linda Lafleur, a two-year seat, with 1,111 votes.

The precinct-by-precinct vote tallies are available on the City's website.

PArkerVillager Internal Page
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com