flag image

Burton happy with redistricting plan that keeps his district intact

June 06, 2012
BERLIN – Executive Councilor Ray Burton was all smiles when he arrived in Berlin on Thursday afternoon. Hours before, a committee of conference of the Senate and House decided to essentially leave Burton's district pretty much intact with only minor changes. "It's exactly what I wanted," he said.

The Senate had dramatically altered Burton's rural district by removing much of Grafton and Sullivan Counties and added much of the heavily populated Stratford County. The result would have made the long-time elected official's district much less rural and northern focused. Burton and many North Country leaders argued against the Senate's plan. They preferred the House plan, which by and large, kept the current Council districts intact. The proposal still needs to be approved by both Houses and then the governor.

As proposed, Councilor district number 1 will include: all of Coos and Grafton; the towns of Albany, Alton, Andover, Bartlett, Brookfield, Center Harbor, Chatham, Conway, Cornish, Croydon, Danbury, Eaton, Effingham, Freedom, Gilford, Grantham, Hart's Location, Hill, Jackson, Madison, Meredith, Middleton, Milton, Moultonborough, New Durham, New Hampton, New London, Newport, Ossipee, Plainfield, Sanbornton, Sandwich, Springfield, Sunapee, Tamworth, Tilton, Tuftonboro, Wakefield, Wilmot, and Wolfeboro; and the cities of Claremont and Laconia.

Salmon Press
Martin Lord Osman
Littleon Food Coop
Littleon Food Coop
Town of Barnsted
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com