flag image

Prospect Mountain announces winter sports schedules


Joshua Spaulding image
by Joshua Spaulding
write the author

Sports Editor - Salmon Press Newspapers
shadow
December 20, 2020
ALTON — The Prospect Mountain High School winter sports season will, like the fall season before it, feature a localized schedule, with Timber Wolf teams playing neighboring teams exclusively.

Originally, the Timber Wolf hoop teams were scheduled to take on neighboring Kingswood, but the Governor Wentworth Regional School Board voted in early December to not allow winter sports to move forward.

The basketball season will now kick off on Tuesday, Jan. 19, against Gilford with the girls at home and the boys on the road, both set for 6 p.m. varsity starts. The teams will then switch locations on Thursday, Jan. 21, with the same start times.

The next week brings Laconia to town, with the Timber Wolf boys hosting the Sachems on Monday, Oct. 25, and the girls visiting Laconia before the girls host the Sachems on Thursday, Jan. 28, and the boys travel to Laconia, all with 6 p.m. start times.

February starts with games against Moultonborough. The Timber Wolf girls will host the Panthers on Tuesday, Feb. 2, and will travel to Moultonborough on Thursday, Feb. 4, while the boys will be at Moultonborough on Tuesday, Feb. 2, and host the Panthers on Thursday, Feb. 4, with 6 p.m. varsity start times for all games.

On Monday, Feb. 8, the Prospect boys will be hosting Belmont and will be at Belmont on Thursday, Feb. 11, while the girls will be at Belmont on Feb. 8 and will host the Raiders on Feb. 11, with 6 p.m. start times scheduled.

The penultimate week of the season sees the Timber Wolves taking on Pittsfield. On Monday, Feb. 15, the Prospect boys will host the Panthers and the girls will be on the road in Pittsfield. The teams will switch locations on Thursday, Feb. 18, with the girls at home and the boys on the road with 6 p.m. start times.

The final week of the season has Prospect Mountain taking on Farmington. The Timber Wolf boys will be hosting the Tigers on Monday, Feb. 22, and the Prospect hoop girls will be hosting the Tigers on Thursday, Feb. 25, with the girls traveling on Feb. 22 and the boys traveling on Feb. 25, all with 6 p.m. start times.

The unified Timber Wolf basketball team has three games scheduled. On Monday, Feb. 25, the Timber Wolves will visit Laconia at 3:30 p.m., on Tuesday, Feb. 9, Prospect will be hosting Belmont at 3:30 p.m. and on Monday, Feb. 15, the Timber Wolves will be at Winnisquam at 3:30 p.m.

The Prospect Mountain alpine ski team will be at Gunstock on Friday, Jan. 15, Friday, Jan. 29, and Friday, Feb. 5, all with 10 a.m. start times. The team will be at Sunapee on Friday, Jan. 22, also with a 10 a.m. start time. The Division III State Meets will take place at Gunstock on Monday, Feb. 8 (girls) and Tuesday, Feb. 9 (boys).

All schedules are subject to change.

Sports Editor Joshua Spaulding can be reached at 279-4516, ext. 155 or josh@salmonpress.news.

Martin Lord Osman
Town of Brookfield
Town of Brookfield
SalmonPress
SalmonAds
SalmonLetters
SalmonNews
Varney Smith
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com