flag image

Burley named Division III Player of the Year

Joshua Spaulding image
by Joshua Spaulding
write the author

Sports Editor - Salmon Press Newspapers

BRIANNA BURLEY was named the Division III Player of the Year. Joshua Spaulding. (click for larger version)
June 12, 2017
REGION — With the season wrapping up on the local softball diamonds, All-State lists were announced by the coaches association last week and it included major honors for one local player.

Prospect Mountain senior pitcher Brianna Burley was named Division III Player of the Year after leading the Timber Wolves to the Division III quarterfinals and recording her 500th career strikeout during the season.

Burley also earned First Team as a pitcher, while teammate Ali Brown earned First Team honors for outfield.

Also earning First Team honors for infield was Newfound's Amanda Johnston, while teammate Ashlee Dukette was named Second Team as a catcher. Kylee MacDonald of Newfound earned a Second Team at-large bid.

Joining Johnston, Burley and Brown with First Team honors were pitchers Katlyn Coulter of White Mountains and Madison Labrie of Mascenic, catchers Anna Doherty of Franklin, Stevie Orton of Gilford, Jamie Cookingham of Bishop Brady and Raven Comtois of Mascenic, infielders Cassidy Gibbons of Campbell, Lauren Bolstridge of Winnisquam, Nicole Antonucci of Belmont, Jillian Lachapelle of Gilford, Shaeleigh Valliere of Berlin, Hailey Haskins of Franklin and Kaitlyn Nelson of White Mountains and outfielders Emma Rousseau of Campbell and Cait Mallahan of Bishop Brady, while Lily Rivera of Bishop Brady and Grace Chadbourne of Conant both earned at-large First Team.

Also earning Second Team honors along with Dukette and MacDonald were pitchers Olivia Byers of Campbell and Chloe Vogel of Fall Mountain, catcher Abi Gray of Campbell, infielders Maddie Folcik of Kearsarge, Maggie Atkins of Hillsboro-Deering, Aniecia Vargas of Bishop Brady, Lacey McNeal of Newport, Sylvia Hamilton of Somersworth and Julianna Estremera of Belmont and outfielders Jaida Mitchell of Raymond and Makenzie Donovan of Belmont, while Brianna Watson of White Mountains earned a Second Team at-large bid.

Honorable Mention went to pitcher Manea Aho of Conant, catcher Stacia Dame of Newport, infielders Carly Catty of Winnisquam, Amelia Kelly of Somersworth and Marit Milan and at-large players Jordyn Babin of Mascenic, Abby Santis of Bishop Brady and Gena Costello of Hillsboro-Deering.

Bill Clary of Belmont was named the Division III Coach of the Year while Shawn Garrett of Gilford was named Division III JV Coach of the Year.

In Division II, Plymouth outfielder Jordan Meier earned Second Team and Kennett outfielder Natalie Perry earned Honorable Mention.

Earning First Team honors were pitchers Hailey Yabroudy of Souhegan, Abby Bass of St. Thomas, Kaylee Chouinard of Goffstown and Delaney Parker of Milford, catcher Stephanie Bishop of Milford, infielders Katelyn Hill of Merrimack Valley, Jen Carson and Paige Delier of Milford and Olivia Langevin of Pembroke and outfielders Kerry Riley and Catie Langdon of Coe-Brown, Carley Holtshouser of Milford and Jenna Williamson of Windham.

Joining Meier with Second Team honors were pitchers Mallory Perron of Coe-Brown, Shannon Morin of Pelham and Stephanie Berube of Pembroke, catchers Brianna Connolly of Pembroke, Alyssa Lombardi of Goffstown and Samantha Cushing of Souhegan, infielders Shannon Gifford of Goffstown, Jocelyn Dimond of John Stark, Sarah Ratcliffe of Pelham, Madison Robischeau of Souhegan and Rachel Estes of Windham and outfielders Kara Lendry of Goffstown, Madison Burke of Pelham, Nicole Pitts of Sanborn and Tori Paquette of St. Thomas.

Joining Perry with Honorable Mention nods were outfielder Marry Rotthoff of Souhegan and infielders Shealyn Bedell of Coe-Brown, Emily Bevens of Pelham, Cassidy Pigott of Hollis-Brookline, Sara Anoli of Bow, Jillian Cortez of St. Thomas and Josie Zalensky of Trinity.

Ratcliffe was named Player of the Year and Bass was named Pitcher of the Year. Peter Perich won the Glen Colburn Award and Harold Sachs of Salem won the Joan Forge Service Award. Andrea Bruneau of Souhegan was named Division II Coach of the Year and Cristy Jenkins of Goffstown was named JV Coach of the Year.

Joshua Spaulding can be reached at 569-3126 or sportsgsn@salmonpress.com.

PArkerVillager Internal Page
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com